Mikrokosmos Volume 1 (pink): Piano Solo by Bela BartokMikrokosmos Volume 1 (pink): Piano Solo by Bela Bartok

Mikrokosmos Volume 1 (pink): Piano Solo

By (composer)Bela Bartok

Paperback | June 1, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.52 online 
$12.95 list price save 11%
Earn 58 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


(BH Piano). The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartok. In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for "didactic" purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the "world of the little ones, the children". Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written. The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty. Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 1: Unison melodies, Question and answer, Imitation and Inversion. Volume with pink covers have text in English, French, German, and Hungarian. Volume 1 Contains Nos. 1-36
Title:Mikrokosmos Volume 1 (pink): Piano SoloFormat:PaperbackDimensions:36 pages, 12 × 9 × 0.11 inPublished:June 1, 2004Publisher:Boosey & HawkesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1423493044

ISBN - 13:9781423493044

Look for similar items by category: