Modernist Quartet by Frank LentricchiaModernist Quartet by Frank Lentricchia

Modernist Quartet

byFrank Lentricchia

Paperback | August 26, 1994

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 265 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Modernist Quartet is a study of the four major American modernist poets--Frost, Stevens, Pound, Eliot--in various historical environments (literary, philosophical, gender relations, the business of capitalist economics) with special attention given to their central poetic texts as they simultaneously reflect and shape our understanding of those environments. Frank Lentricchia presents the poems as stories of the poets seeking to sustain a life in noncommercial writing, in a culture that is only hospitable, for the most part, to commercial art.
Title:Modernist QuartetFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.5 × 5.43 × 0.71 inPublished:August 26, 1994Publisher:Cambridge University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521469759

ISBN - 13:9780521469753

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1. Philosophers of modernism at Harvard, circa 1900; 2. Lyric in the culture of capital; 3. Robert Frost; 4. Wallace Stevens; 5. Ezra Pound; 6. T. S. Eliot; Epilogue; Index.

Editorial Reviews

"Lentricchia's erudite and vigorous prose results in a thought-provoking examination of modernism." B. Quinn, Choice