Monastic Architecture in France: From the Renaissance to the Revolution by Joan EvansMonastic Architecture in France: From the Renaissance to the Revolution by Joan Evans

Monastic Architecture in France: From the Renaissance to the Revolution

byJoan Evans

Paperback | June 2, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 396 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


France is a country so rich in architecture that it is not surprising that some of its fine buildings receive little attention. Amongst the Romanesque and Gothic churches and the Renaissance châteaux, the domestic architecture of the monasteries has been overlooked. Originally published in 1964, this book was the first study of French domestic monastic architecture since the Renaissance. The architecture corresponds to the collegiate and academic architecture of England, but its style is more splendid. To gain material for this book Dr Evans travelled all over France, and found that many of the buildings were now farms or country houses. The book includes 822 photographs, and the study is divided according to the various orders. This is a book which will appeal to art-lovers as well as architects and historians of the religious orders.
Title:Monastic Architecture in France: From the Renaissance to the RevolutionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:654 pages, 11.02 × 8.27 × 1.3 inPublished:June 2, 2011Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521180848

ISBN - 13:9780521180849

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Preface; List of illustrations; Introduction; Part I. The Benedictines: 1. 1498-1610; 2. Louis XIII, 1610-43, Louis XIV (regency), 1643-61; 3. Louis XIV, 1661-1715; 4. Louis XI, 1715-74, Louis XVI, 1774-93; Part II. The Cistercians; Part III. The Augustinians: 1. Tradition and reform; 2. The old orders; 3. The new orders: nursing; 4. The new orders: teaching; 5. The new orders: contemplative; Part IV. The Carthusians; Part V. The Carmelites; Part VI. The Dominicans; Part VII. The Franciscans: 1. The Cordeliers; 2. The Recollets; 3. The Capuchins; 4. The Minimes; 5. The Third Order; Part VIII. The Jesuits; Part IX. Lesser Orders: 1. Men; 2. Women; Conclusion; Bibliography; Index.