Monk's Tale: The Pilgrimage Begins, 1941-1975 by Edward A. MalloyMonk's Tale: The Pilgrimage Begins, 1941-1975 by Edward A. Malloy

Monk's Tale: The Pilgrimage Begins, 1941-1975

byEdward A. Malloy

Hardcover | August 24, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 163 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


One of the most respected figures in Catholic higher education, the Reverend Edward A. Malloy has written a thoroughly engaging first installment of his three-volume memoir. This book covers the years from his birth in 1941 to 1975, when he received his doctorate in Christian ethics from Vanderbilt. Written in his trademark self-effacing and humorous style, Malloy's book portrays his childhood growing up in the northeast Washington, D.C., neighborhood of Brookland (the neighborhood's alias was "Little Rome" because of all the Catholic church-related institutions it encompassed). Malloy describes his family and early education, his growing love of sports, and his years at Archbishop Carroll High School where he played on an extraordinarily successful basketball team. The next five chapters chronicle his undergraduate years at Notre Dame, where he was recruited to play basketball, his decision to become a priest, his seminary experience, the taking of final vows, and his graduate school experience at Vanderbilt University.

Monk's Tale is a captivating account of growing up Catholic in the 1940s and '50s, as well as a revealing reflection of the dramatic changes that occurred in the Catholic Church and in American society during the 1960s. This book is also a loving tribute to Malloy's parents, sisters, friends, teachers, religious mentors, and colleagues who helped pave his way to the University of Notre Dame and to his profound commitment to service, leadership, and God.

"The first volume of Monk Malloy's memoir is more than a collection of personal reminiscences of the early decades of his life by a retired Catholic university president. At its heart the volume is also a detailed chronicle of the formation of a son who, from his youth during the second half of the last century, absorbed the religious faith and convictions of his representative middle-class Irish American Catholic family. It is the influence of that faith and cultural heritage throughout his personal and professional formation that grounds Monk's aspirations and achievements as priest, religious, and educator." --Ernest Bartell, C.S.C., Faculty Fellow, Kellogg Institute for International Studies

"One of the greatest blessings in life is the opportunity to touch people's lives. Father Malloy has done that as a player, teacher, priest, and President of the University of Notre Dame . . . and he has done it again in this inspiring and motivating book. Be prepared to laugh. Monk can really spin a tale." --Morgan Wootten, Coach Emeritus, DeMatha High School

"Father Monk gives an insight into his life by sharing success, challenges, and a destiny of response to a call to be a Holy Cross religious-priest. It is a journey of a soul!" --Rev. Thomas E. Chambers, C.S.C., President Emeritus, Our Lady of Holy Cross College, New Orleans

Rev. Edward A. "Monk" Malloy, C.S.C., served from 1987 to 2005 as the sixteenth president of the University of Notre Dame, where he is currently professor of theology. He serves on the board of directors of a number of universities and national organizations and is the recipient of twenty-two honorary degrees. Father Malloy is the auth...
Title:Monk's Tale: The Pilgrimage Begins, 1941-1975Format:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.1 inPublished:August 24, 2009Publisher:University of Notre Dame PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0268035164

ISBN - 13:9780268035167


Table of Contents



One: Roots

Two: Early Schooling

Three: "Come on and Fight for Carroll High! Come on and Fight for Victory"

Four: "Love Thee Notre Dame"

Five: The Call

Six: "Spes Unica--The Cross Our Only Hlpe" (The Seminary Years)

Seven: Final Vows

Eight: Vanderbilt (1970-1973)