More Like Her: A Novel

Paperback | April 17, 2012

byLiza Palmer

not yet rated|write a review
A brilliant, hilarious, and touching story from the author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Liza Palmer’s More Like Her is smart, funny, though-provoking women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, Meg Cabot, and Jane Green. More Like Her is the story of a seemingly perfect woman who’s the envy of her friends, neighbors, and co-workers…until the life of the object of their jealousy spectacularly, unexpectedly, and disastrously explodes. A novel of secrets, disappointments, false impressions—and what really goes on behind those suburban picket fences—More Like Her is ultimately about facing reality and appreciating everything that life has to offer.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.46 online
$18.50 list price (save 11%)
Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A brilliant, hilarious, and touching story from the author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Liza Palmer’s More Like Her is smart, funny, though-provoking women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, Meg Cabot, and Jane Green. More Like Her is the story of a seemingly perfect woman who’s the envy of her friends, neighbo...

From the Jacket

What really goes on behind those perfect white picket fences?In Frances’s mind, beautiful, successful, ecstatically married Emma Dunham is the height of female perfection. Frances, recently dumped with spectacular drama by her boyfriend, aspires to be just like Emma. So do her close friends and fellow teachers, Lisa and Jill. But Lisa’...

Liza Palmer is the internationally bestselling author ofConversations with the Fat Girl,Seeing Me Naked,A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents,More Like Her, andNowhere but Home. An Emmy-nominated writer, she lives in Los Angeles, and is hard at work on her next novel and several film and television projects.

other books by Liza Palmer

The F Word: A Novel
The F Word: A Novel

Paperback|Apr 25 2017

$22.99

Nowhere But Home: A Novel
Nowhere But Home: A Novel

Paperback|Nov 16 2015

$2.00 online$24.95list price
A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents
A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents

Kobo ebook|Dec 23 2009

$12.99

see all books by Liza Palmer
Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.76 inPublished:April 17, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062007467

ISBN - 13:9780062007469

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of More Like Her: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from The grass isn't always greener... I read Liza Palmer's previous book A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents a few years ago and really enjoyed it. From the cover, I was expecting a 'chick lit' type of read, but the opening prologue is a 911 call detailing a shooting at the Markham School. We then meet Frannie in the opening chapter. She's a teacher at the Markham School. She's also just come through a nasty breakup with her boyfriend, also a teacher at the school. We're introduced to Jill and Lisa, Frannie's sidekicks. Palmer provides lots of light hearted banter and situations to open the novel. But underneath it all is Frannie's desire to be what's she's not, to have what she doesn't. Just like Emma, the new director of the school, who seems to have it all. Frannie laments..."I'm not the girl men choose."But it turns out that Emma's life is not all that perfect. Palmer explores lots of areas in More Like Her - bullying, domestic abuse, marriage and self searching. As Frannie puts it - the search for the Real Me. I enjoyed the interaction between the main characters (although I thought Lisa became a 'bestie' awfully quick) Funnily enough, the character I enjoyed the most was Sam - the object of Frannie's desire. I found Frannie to be a bit exhausting. You might know her - she's the one who has to slice, dice and dissect every last situation and detail, wringing nuance from inflections, tones and glances and discussing them over and over again. I enjoyed Frannie's introspective look at finding her real self, but found myself growing tired of the repetition. I wish there had been more focus on Emma and her situation. Those looking for a traditional chick lit book won't find it here. But, those looking for a contemporary women's fiction read that explores the green grass on the other side of fence will
Date published: 2012-04-17

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Palmer brings wit and wisdom to her tale of love, damage and self-acceptance”