Mr. Mee: A Novel

Paperback | March 6, 2002

byAndrew Crumey

not yet rated|write a review

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

In this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation and mysterious disappearance of Rosier's Encyclopedia, an explosive text written more than two hundred years ago that purportedly disproves the existence of the universe. At times funny, often thought-provoking, and completely engaging, Mr. Mee is Crumey's most rewarding novel to date.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$25.23 online
$28.95 list price (save 12%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

A New York Times Notable Book of the YearIn this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation an...

Andrew Crumey is the author of three previous novels, Music, in a Foreign Language; Pfitz, a New York Times Notable Book; and D'Alembert's Principle. He lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

other books by Andrew Crumey

Mobius Dick
Mobius Dick

Paperback|Mar 31 2015

$18.64 online$20.95list price(save 11%)
Mr Mee
Mr Mee

Paperback|Mar 31 2015

$20.95

Sputnik Caledonia
Sputnik Caledonia

Paperback|Feb 28 2016

$20.95

see all books by Andrew Crumey
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.34 × 5.2 × 0.94 inPublished:March 6, 2002Publisher:PicadorLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0312282354

ISBN - 13:9780312282356

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Mr. Mee: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs." -Hilary Mantel, The New York Times Book Review"[A] learned romp . . . enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining." -Barbara Fischer, The Boston Globe"Like a tromp l'oeil painting, or a puzzle that invites us to draw at least two contradictory, yet equally plausible conclusions . . . Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges." -Merle Rubin, The Washington Times"It's the rare novel that makes you want to begin anew as soon as you've finished the last page . . . [Mr. Mee is] one to savor." -Andrew C. Ervin, The Washington Post Book World