Mr. Mee: A Novel by Andrew Crumey

Mr. Mee: A Novel

byAndrew Crumey

Paperback | March 6, 2002

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$25.36 online 
$28.95
Earn 127 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

In this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation and mysterious disappearance of Rosier's Encyclopedia, an explosive text written more than two hundred years ago that purportedly disproves the existence of the universe. At times funny, often thought-provoking, and completely engaging, Mr. Mee is Crumey's most rewarding novel to date.

About The Author

Andrew Crumey is the author of three previous novels, Music, in a Foreign Language; Pfitz, a New York Times Notable Book; and D'Alembert's Principle. He lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
Pfitz
Pfitz

by Andrew Crumey

$9.19$10.49

Available for download

Not available in stores

Mobius Dick
Mobius Dick

by Andrew Crumey

$9.89$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Music, in a Foreign Language
Music, in a Foreign Language

by Andrew Crumey

$9.19$10.49

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Mr. Mee: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.34 × 5.2 × 0.94 inPublished:March 6, 2002Publisher:PicadorLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0312282354

ISBN - 13:9780312282356

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Mr. Mee: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs." -Hilary Mantel, The New York Times Book Review"[A] learned romp . . . enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining." -Barbara Fischer, The Boston Globe"Like a tromp l'oeil painting, or a puzzle that invites us to draw at least two contradictory, yet equally plausible conclusions . . . Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges." -Merle Rubin, The Washington Times"It's the rare novel that makes you want to begin anew as soon as you've finished the last page . . . [Mr. Mee is] one to savor." -Andrew C. Ervin, The Washington Post Book World