Mrs. Vargas and the Dead Naturalist by Kathleen Alcala

Mrs. Vargas and the Dead Naturalist

byKathleen Alcala

Kobo ebook | May 1, 1992

Pricing and Purchase Info


Available for download

Not available in stores


Mrs. Vargas and the Dead Naturalist is a collection of 14 stories set in Mexico and the Southwest. Written in the tradition of magic realism, each is a story of transformation from one reality to another. They are arranged roughly in chronological order from adolescence to old age (and beyond). Like the Mexican writer Elena Poniatowska, I have tried to tell the stories my characters would tell if they were writers. Most of the protagonists are women, some weak, some strong, but all driven by their connection to a power far more compelling than the restricted circumstances of their lives. Science fiction writer Joanna Russ told me my stories were important because I am writing about women whose stories would otherwise not be told. I write about a culture in which miracles continue to flower in neglected inner courtyards, and old women grapple with the devil or converse with angels. Because these stories are difficult to classify by genre, they have appeared in magazines ranging from Calyx, a Journal of Art and Literature by Women, to Isaac Asimov's Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Half of these stories were published separately, and two nominated for the General Electric Young Writers Award.

Title:Mrs. Vargas and the Dead NaturalistFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:May 1, 1992Publisher:Calyx BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0934971986

ISBN - 13:9780934971980

Look for similar items by category: