My Dear I Wanted To Tell You: A Novel

Paperback | January 29, 2016

byLouisa Young

not yet rated|write a review

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You is one of those books that doesn’t leave you, and probably never will.”
—Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs novels

The onrush of World War I irrevocably intertwines the lives of two young couples in Louisa Young’s epic tale of love in the midst of chaos. Perfect for readers of Atonement, The Mapping of Love and Death, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Young’s moving novel of class struggles, star-crossed romance, and the grim reality of the battlefield is a stunning exploration of the devastating consequences, physical and spiritual, of a world enmeshed in Total War.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.99 online
$8.95 list price (save 33%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“My Dear I Wanted to Tell You is one of those books that doesn’t leave you, and probably never will.”—Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs novelsThe onrush of World War I irrevocably intertwines the lives of two young couples in Louisa Young’s epic tale of love in the midst of chaos. Perfect for re...

From the Jacket

The lives of two very different couples—an officer and his aristocratic wife, and a young soldier and his childhood sweetheart—are irrevocably intertwined and forever changed in this stunning World War I epic of love and war. At eighteen years old, working-class Riley Purefoy and “posh” Nadine Waveney have promised each other the futur...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.76 inPublished:January 29, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061997153

ISBN - 13:9780061997150

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of My Dear I Wanted To Tell You: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fascinating untold history I was initially drawn to this book by the WWI romance plot, but what held my attention was the focus on Queen Mary's Sidcup Hospital. Without spoiling too much, much of the book takes place at a real-life English hospital that pioneered reconstructive surgery. The heartbreaking and inspiring stories, mostly based on true accounts, were fascinating and very historically detailed. While I found the multiple points of view a bit frustrating at first, ultimately the contrast between Riley and Julie's experiences proved very effective. This book has many graphic descriptions and is not for the faint of heart, but it allows Young to effectively convey the horrors of war. Often, the scars that don't show can be just as damaging as the ones that do.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing look at WWI.... I love history books and this one brought a different look into what Men and Women went through druing WWI. I really recomend this one for anyone who enjoys a good love store with some great History.
Date published: 2011-09-19

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Every once in a while comes a novel that generates its own success, simply by being loved. Louisa Young’s My Dear I Wanted to Tell You inspires the kind of devotion among its readers not seen since David Nicholls’ One Day.”