My Family For The War

Paperback | February 24, 2015

byAnne C. VoorhoeveTranslated byTammi Reichel

not yet rated|write a review
Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award 
Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature
Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis
An ALSC Notable Children's Book
Kids' Indie Next List

 
Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray
 
At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers, Frances (as she is now called) courageously pieces together a new life for herself. But what will happen to her when she is finally reunited with her family, now that she’s a stranger herself after seven years of war?
 
Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve’s award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.
 
* "With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum."
Booklist, starred review
 
* "Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl's emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction."

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth LiteratureNominated for the Evangelischer BuchpreisAn ALSC Notable Children's BookKids' Indie Next List Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn fro...

Anne C. Voorhoeve is an award-winning German novelist and screenwriter. She lives in Berlin, Germany.Tammi Reichel is an instructor of German at the University of Richmond and lives with her family in Virginia.
Format:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:February 24, 2015Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147511836

ISBN - 13:9780147511836

Customer Reviews of My Family For The War

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth LiteratureNominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis (The Protestant Book Award)An ALSC Notable Children's BookKids' Indie Next List * "With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum."—Booklist, starred review * "Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl's emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction."—School Library Journal, starred review "An engaging and often moving coming-of-age story. A poignant, thoughtful work."—Kirkus Reviews "This multilayered story [which] cogently explores themes of motherhood and adoptive families is gracefully portrayed."—Publishers Weekly "My Family for the War is a must-have for young adults. The novel is simultaneously beautiful, touching, and heart wrenching."—VOYA "This is a solid addition to Holocaust collections, life on the home front during the war, and for discussions of what is a family."—LMC