My Heart and Other Black Holes

Paperback | May 31, 2016

byJasmine Warga

not yet rated|write a review

Alive with intensity, gut-wrenching honesty, moments of humor, and—of course—heart. Not to be missed.”—Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and The Walls Around Us

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who’s haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.23 online
$12.50 list price (save 10%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“Alive with intensity, gut-wrenching honesty, moments of humor, and—of course—heart. Not to be missed.”—Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and The Walls Around UsA stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plo...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:May 31, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062324683

ISBN - 13:9780062324689

Customer Reviews of My Heart and Other Black Holes

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from ASTONISHING, LOVING TO THE MOON AND BACK I'm not going to write a 10 000 words essay to tell you how much I fell in love with this book as its author. Personally, there's 2 kinda ways to read this book : you get it or nah. You feel the emotion, pain, happiness, hope, love written within those pages and you deeply connect to it. This book will sounds as heading back home for certain people, reconnecting with ourselves, see ourselves through characters.For others, it'll simply be a book treating about mental illness, teenagers falling deeply in suicide's depths, overall a good book but nothing else. I deeply, truly hope you'll get it and keep this story near your heart because it's meant to be.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An emotional and compelling read When I first heard about My Heart and Other Black Holes, I knew I had to read it. While it isn’t the usual fluffy book that I enjoy, I definitely wanted to pick this one up because I’m always on the look out for a great and thought-provoking book. And wow, am I glad that I decided to request this one. My Heart and Other Black Holes was such a great and powerful book. Phsyics geek Aysel has been plotting her death, ever since her father messed up her life. When she discovers a website that gives people a chance to get suicide partners, she becomes the suicide partner of FrozenRobot (a.k.a. Roman). But as Aysel and Roman grow closer, Aysel starts to doubt her choice, and is hoping to make Roman doubt himself too. I honestly loved Aysel, and her personality was definitely well-developed throughout the book. I loved seeing her develop, and grow as both a character and a person in the book. Roman, the other main character-love interest, was also just amazing to read about and my heart pains a little thinking about his reasons to seek a suicide partner. I could definitely relate to some of the important aspects of the book, and this book really made me think about some of my own personal thoughts and opinions about depression and suicide. The plot, while somewhat predictable, was excellently written and just amazing. The plot wasn’t too complex, as this was mostly a character-driven novel, but some parts definitely made me tear up, gasp and yell way too loudly. I also have some reservations about the romance, as the ending had an insta-lovey feel to it, but I think it definitely worked for the characters and suited the book overall. Overall, I think My Heart and Other Black Holes was such a great and powerful book, and I definitely shed many tears reading it. I really liked it and I highly recommend it to people looking for a powerful read about depression and suicide.
Date published: 2015-02-08

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Warga delves honestly into the very difficult issues of teenage depression…sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but ultimately filled with hope.”