My Oxford Year: A Novel by Julia WhelanMy Oxford Year: A Novel by Julia Whelan

My Oxford Year: A Novel

byJulia Whelan

Paperback | April 24, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill Entertainment

One of the Best Books of April for Brit + Co and Liz and Lisa!

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future—perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

 

Title:My Oxford Year: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:April 24, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062740644

ISBN - 13:9780062740649

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holy heartstrings Batman! MY OXFORD YEAR had me laughing, swooning, crying & basically feeling ALL THE FEELS! Wow!!! This book shattered me and put me back together and just seriously messed with all of my feelings! I loved it! I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I was extremely excited going into My Oxford Year. I’m a sucker for a fish-out-of-water story and I’m a huge fan of books set in England...let me tell you that this one completely delivered and then some! I was expecting this to be lighter than it was, but I definitely wasn’t disappointed with what it ended up being. It actually kind of blew me away! First, the characters were wonderful! I loved Ella, and all of the other characters were amazing too! Jamie...gah, sooooo dreamy, and Ella’s friends: Maggie, Charlie, and Tom, were all fabulous! Ella was dedicated, determined, sassy, but also a bit ruthless, too. I really admired her, and I loved seeing how her time at Oxford changed her. I also just loved every single moment of interaction between her and all of the other characters, no matter how small, from Hugh in the lobby of her lodging, to Simon at the chippy shop, to all of her friends and most of all, to Jamie! I adored Jamie....sooooo much. Dude had me swooning from the first time his posh prat face appeared on the page. :P And the story...holy heartstrings Batman! My Oxford Year sucked me in and then sucker punched me. I feel like that one girl in Mean Girls who says that Regina George punched her in the face and then said that it was awesome. That’s definitely me right now. I loved where this story ended up and I loved the journey that took me there. And I really loved how poetry and English literature wove throughout the story. It was moving and well done. It made me remember how much I loved studying the English language during my undergrad as an English major...and it made me want to pick up some poetry books...if only I could just as easily find a swoon-worthy Brit to read me poetry, too. ;) Overall, I absolutely loved My Oxford Year! I loved that I went in expecting one thing and ended up with something else entirely...it made me relate to Ella even better than I could have hoped. Just as she ended up loving her time in Oxford, despite it not being what she expected to experience, I also loved my time with My Oxford Year! I wholeheartedly recommend this book! If you love stories that make you laugh, swoon, cry, and feel a whole influx emotions, then this book is definitely for you!
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartbreakingly Beautiful Heads up people: if you look at this cover and think it will be a fun, light, chick flick read....you’re wrong. Prior to reading this novel, that was my exact impression from judging by the cover (do not do that). This book. Oh, this book. I seriously do not think this book will get the credit or acknowledgment or praise that it deserves solely because of how lighthearted it looks from the outside. This story is way more than ‘lighthearted’ and surpassed all my expectations. This novel was equisitely written. There were many moments while reading that I had to stop and reread a passage because it was so beautifully written. It was an emotional and relatable read that had me thinking on difficult topics. It definitely was a novel that I would say had me thinking existentially and when a novel gets to me at that level, it’s the ultimate achievement of any story. This novel will last in my mind for a long time and I know I will be back to reread. It was such a beautiful novel and I know I will be looking for more by this author in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was beautifully written, witty, quirky, romantic, and made my heart beat a bit faster. *4.5 Stars! My expectations were quite high for My Oxford Year. Along with a synopsis that seemed to be written just for me, many of my fellow readers were spouting off their love for this book. Add all of that to the fact that it was supposed to be perfect for fans of Sparks and Moyes and is being made into a major motion picture, and my curiosity was definitely piqued. I was eager to immerse myself in all things Oxonian, and I am pleased to say that my expectations were met. I was completely swept away with the author’s writing. From the excerpts at the beginning of every chapter, the beautiful, vivid descriptions, to the perfect cast of characters, I felt as though I was right there at Oxford witnessing every single detail firsthand. As I was reading, it was clear to see how this was going to make a great movie. I could visualize every scene, every interaction between the characters, as well as the lovely, historic, picturesque setting. Ella was living her dream. As a Rhodes scholar, she was finally going to get to study at Oxford University – her Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience. But while one door opened, another was ushering her in at the same time. She was asked to help advise in a presidential hopeful’s campaign back in the United States. Agreeing to make herself available by phone and e-mail for this political opportunity, she was off to England to study literature at Oxford. Ella’s early time at Oxford was a bit bumbling and awkward, but that only endeared me to her all the more. Between getting acquainted with her new environment and her fellow classmates, she also got a rather rude introduction to one of her literature professors, although she didn’t know who he was at the time. I loved the interactions between Ella and Jamie. Their banter and sparring added an extra spark to their obvious attraction. While this scenario generally shouts out inappropriate and forbidden, there was nothing illicit about their relationship. The student/teacher relationship at Oxford was at the discretion of the two consenting adults. This allowed the reader to simply witness their relationship unfold authentically into something that neither one of them had ever anticipated. I was thoroughly entertained and in my reading zone with this novel. As the pages flew by, I had my inklings and suspicions over what I thought was going to happen in the story. I was just sitting back, completely enjoying my time with these fabulous characters, but I had the rug pulled out from under me. The story took a turn from where I believed that it was heading, and it was an emotional upheaval at its finest. I’m always thrilled when, after reading so many books, an author can still surprise me – even though my heart took a bit of a beating in the process. My Oxford Year was the complete package. It was beautifully written, witty, quirky, romantic, and made my heart beat a bit faster. It’s one of those special books that makes you so happy that you read it. As soon as I finished the final page, I was tempted to read it all over again.
Date published: 2018-07-02

Editorial Reviews

“If you love books by Nicholas Sparks and JoJo Moyes, you’re going to swoon for Julia Whelan’s newest novel..”