My Plain Jane by Cynthia HandMy Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand

My Plain Jane

byCynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Hardcover | June 26, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.76 online 
$21.99 list price save 19%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of the Unearthly series with HarperTeen: Unearthly, Hallowed, Radiant (an enovella) and Boundless, and the NYT bestselling contemporary, The Last Time We Say Goodbye. She teaches courses in creative writing at Boise State University. Her book, My Lady Jane, (cowritten with Brodi Ash...
Loading
Title:My Plain JaneFormat:HardcoverDimensions:464 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.41 inPublished:June 26, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006265277X

ISBN - 13:9780062652775

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Lady Janies write another hit My Plain Jane was one of my most anticipated reads and it definitely did not disappoint. I loved the creativity of a Jane Eyre retelling with ghosts, a (not-so-secret) society about wayward spirits, and how Charlotte Bronte was made a character within the book. I liked and was also very impressed by how The Lady Janies managed to stick to the original Jane Eyre story but then rewrote all of the more problematic aspects of the story in a way that made sense. For example, how Mr. Rochester had canonically locked up Mrs. Rochester because she was "hysterical" and "mad" and these actions were explained through the ghosts and paranormal dealings within this Jane Eyre universe. The jokes were funny although not all of them landed. The humour just worked better for me in My Lady Jane. I definitely thought there were moments that were funny or clever. However, there weren't moments that made me laugh out loud. The writing seemed a little simple at times but it did its job in telling the story so that's all that really matters, although I've noticed there were a lot of unnecessary parenthesis.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, lighthearted and comical! Let me start off by saying I have never read Jane Eyre. It's a crime I know!! I absolutely love paranormal occurrences and this being a ghost hunting adventure was perfect for me. The plot of the book was excellent and it kept me turning the pages. My favourite aspects of the book were the literary references which include Harry Potter, Sherlock Holmes and Lord Of The Rings to name a few. Seeing references to these in My Plain Jane made me incredibly happy! You have to really watch out for a few of them or you'll miss them completely! The authors stop the story to address the reader throughout the book which makes you feel as though you are a part of the story. They did the same thing throughout My Lady Jane and it makes the story so much better when you feel like you are a part of it! Not to mention when they do address the reader usually its comical! By far the best character in here was Helen, I'm not going to say who she is but she is sassy, snarky and sarcastic! The reason this isn't a 5 star read for me was mainly because of the characters. I disliked the majority of the characters for 95% of the book which was unfortunate. I couldn't connect with them and they felt lacklustre to me. It wasn't until after the big event in the book that I started to enjoy them. They were written in a way that made them very unlikable for me which was not the intended purpose (i'm assuming). Jane Eyre is incredibly stubborn, I don't think have ever read a more stubborn character before (Is she like this in Jane Eyre? I wouldn't know I haven't read it). The other reason was partially my fault! I really enjoyed My Lady Jane the horse jokes in it were of epic proportion and made me laugh out loud on numerous occasions. I went into My Plain Jane expecting the same type of humour and comedy and I didn't receive that. While I did laugh a few times at the beginning of the book, as it went on I didn't find it as comical, it was just a lighthearted fun book, not so much humorous. Maybe if I had read Jane Eyre I may have gotten more of the jokes but alas, I didn't. But overall I really did enjoy this book, the plot was so great and if you enjoyed My Lady Jane you will definitely enjoy My Plain Jane. I can't wait to continue The Lady Janies series however, we have to wait until 2020, it seems like its so far away! Thank you to Harper Collins Canada for sending me an ARC for review.
Date published: 2018-03-05

Editorial Reviews

“Adventure, intrigue, humor, and romance abound. A great choice for those who enjoy lighthearted, alternative history adventures.”