Naomi And Her Daughters: A Novel

Hardcover | August 24, 2010

byWalter Wangerin Jr.

not yet rated|write a review

From master storyteller Walter Wangerin, Jr. comes this familiar biblical saga told in a fresh, transfixing way. You’ll feel you’ve never heard it before! Melding historical accuracy with imaginative detail, Wangerin uses the biblical books of Judges and Ruth to explore themes of love, faith, grief and community set against a backdrop of war and political instability. The widow Naomi grieves the deaths of her two adult sons after the shocking murder of a beloved adopted daughter, while pondering her responsibilities toward her Moabite daughters-in-law. Ancient Israel is in chaos. When her daughter-in-law, Ruth, begs to return to Israel with Naomi, events are set in motion that will change the course of history. But wait…this isn’t the tame, flannel graph story you heard in Sunday School. In the tradition of Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent and Elissa Elliott’s Eve: A Novel of the First Woman, Wangerin imbues his tale with strong female characters and an earthy realism that gives the timeless Old Testament narrative so much power. You’ll find echoes of contemporary issues throughout: deceit, heartbreak, loss, war, and, of course, the power of love. Naomi’s combined strength and tenderness becomes the pivot upon which a nation turns; her decisions ultimately lead to the founding of the family lineage of Jesus Christ. Breathtaking descriptions, shocking violence, and inspirational courage make this spellbinding novel by a beloved award-winning author a story you won’t soon forget. It’s the perfect novel for your book group, and a satisfying read for those who love thoughtful biblical fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.81 online
$31.00 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

From master storyteller Walter Wangerin, Jr. comes this familiar biblical saga told in a fresh, transfixing way. You’ll feel you’ve never heard it before! Melding historical accuracy with imaginative detail, Wangerin uses the biblical books of Judges and Ruth to explore themes of love, faith, grief and community set against a backdrop ...

Walter Wangerin Jr. is widely recognized as one of the most gifted writers writing today on the issues of faith and spirituality. Starting with the renowned Book of the Dun Cow, Wangerin's writing career has encompassed most every genre: fiction, essay, short story, children's story, meditation, and biblical exposition. His writing voi...

other books by Walter Wangerin Jr.

The Book of God: The Bible as a Novel
The Book of God: The Bible as a Novel

Paperback|Feb 8 1998

$24.94 online$24.99list price
Jesus
Jesus

Paperback|Nov 15 2005

$18.50

see all books by Walter Wangerin Jr.
Format:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 9.25 × 6.25 × 0.94 inPublished:August 24, 2010Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310327342

ISBN - 13:9780310327349

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Naomi And Her Daughters: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusing We have other book from Walter Wangerin Jr and knew of his work. But this book confuses me. I guess I was expecting a novelized version of the famous Ruth story which is indeed in this book. But the story is intertwined with another stories of Milcah and Boaz as well. And while reading it, I got lost – literally unfortunately. I had trouble following the story while going back and forth between the past and the present and somewhere in the book the author lost me. I’m sad that I didn’t connect with this book as much as I would have hoped. Somehow it is not what I was expecting. Mind you other readers would enjoy this book very much but in this time and season in my life, I am not enjoying this book like I thought I would. Maybe one day I will pick it up again and read through it with out problems. Disclaimer: Thanks to Zondervan for sending me the book for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.
Date published: 2011-01-08

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Walter Wangerin reimagines Naomi's story and the period of the Judges in this evocative, sometimes brutal novel. Naomi is pictured as a healer and a singer of the songs of Israel - after the fashion of Deborah or Miriam. A Wastrel tanner in their village has a daughter who becomes like a daughter to Naomi and Elimilech. Wangerin ties together several tales from Judges, showing how Naomi descended from a state of blessed, fruitful abundance to her dry and bitter widowhood, before being restored again to life through her daughter-in-law Ruth. Wangerin's Naomi lives and breathes on a raw and gritty stage, with God remaining always faithful - although she doesn't always see it.