Naomi And Her Daughters: A Novel by Walter Wangerin Jr.

Naomi And Her Daughters: A Novel

byWalter Wangerin Jr.

Hardcover | August 24, 2010

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.45 online 
$31.00
Earn 147 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From master storyteller Walter Wangerin, Jr. comes this familiar biblical saga told in a fresh, transfixing way. You’ll feel you’ve never heard it before! Melding historical accuracy with imaginative detail, Wangerin uses the biblical books of Judges and Ruth to explore themes of love, faith, grief and community set against a backdrop of war and political instability. The widow Naomi grieves the deaths of her two adult sons after the shocking murder of a beloved adopted daughter, while pondering her responsibilities toward her Moabite daughters-in-law. Ancient Israel is in chaos. When her daughter-in-law, Ruth, begs to return to Israel with Naomi, events are set in motion that will change the course of history. But wait…this isn’t the tame, flannel graph story you heard in Sunday School. In the tradition of Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent and Elissa Elliott’s Eve: A Novel of the First Woman, Wangerin imbues his tale with strong female characters and an earthy realism that gives the timeless Old Testament narrative so much power. You’ll find echoes of contemporary issues throughout: deceit, heartbreak, loss, war, and, of course, the power of love. Naomi’s combined strength and tenderness becomes the pivot upon which a nation turns; her decisions ultimately lead to the founding of the family lineage of Jesus Christ. Breathtaking descriptions, shocking violence, and inspirational courage make this spellbinding novel by a beloved award-winning author a story you won’t soon forget. It’s the perfect novel for your book group, and a satisfying read for those who love thoughtful biblical fiction.

About The Author

Walter Wangerin Jr. is widely recognized as one of the most gifted writers writing today on the issues of faith and spirituality. Known for his bestselling Book of the Dun Cow, Wangerin’s writing voice is immediately recognizable, and his fans number in the millions. The author of over forty books including The Book of God, Wangerin ha...
Paul: A Novel
Paul: A Novel

by Walter Wangerin Jr.

$21.00

In stock online

Not available in stores

Preparing for Jesus
Preparing for Jesus

by Walter Wangerin Jr.

$9.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Naomi And Her Daughters: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 9.25 × 6.25 × 0.94 inPublished:August 24, 2010Publisher:ZondervanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310327342

ISBN - 13:9780310327349

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Naomi And Her Daughters: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Walter Wangerin reimagines Naomi's story and the period of the Judges in this evocative, sometimes brutal novel. Naomi is pictured as a healer and a singer of the songs of Israel - after the fashion of Deborah or Miriam. A Wastrel tanner in their village has a daughter who becomes like a daughter to Naomi and Elimilech. Wangerin ties together several tales from Judges, showing how Naomi descended from a state of blessed, fruitful abundance to her dry and bitter widowhood, before being restored again to life through her daughter-in-law Ruth. Wangerin's Naomi lives and breathes on a raw and gritty stage, with God remaining always faithful - although she doesn't always see it.