Need To Know: A Novel by Karen ClevelandNeed To Know: A Novel by Karen Cleveland

Need To Know: A Novel

byKaren Cleveland

Audio Book (CD) | January 23, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$47.00

Earn 235 plum® points
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

“Prediction: If you read chapter one, you’ll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you’ll miss dinner, stay up far too late, and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb.”—Lee Child

In pursuit of a Russian sleeper cell on American soil, a CIA analyst uncovers a dangerous secret that will threaten her job, her family—and her life.

What do you do when everything you trust might be a lie?

Vivian Miller is a dedicated CIA counterintelligence analyst assigned to uncover the leaders of Russian sleeper cells in the United States. On track for a much-needed promotion, she’s developed a system for identifying Russian agents, seemingly normal people living in plain sight.

After accessing the computer of a potential Russian operative, Vivian stumbles on a secret dossier of deep-cover agents within America’s borders. A few clicks later, everything that matters to her—her job, her husband, even her four children—is threatened.‎

Vivian has vowed to defend her country against all enemies, foreign and domestic. But now she’s facing impossible choices. Torn between loyalty and betrayal, allegiance and treason, love and suspicion, who can she trust?

Film rights sold to Universal Pictures for Charlize Theron • Rights sold in more than 20 markets

Advance praise for Need to Know

“Perhaps there will be two or three readers out there who manage to finish the first chapter of this terrific debut and put it down for more than an hour. But they’ll be back. And they’ll devour Need to Know like the rest of us, skipping lunch, losing sleep, turning pages until the end, where we’re all left waiting for more.”—John Grisham

“This is a compelling debut about a timely issue.…Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena’s thrillers and Chris Pavone’s The Expats (2012), and for just about everyone who loves the thrill of finding themselves in a book that can’t be put down.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“[A] pulse-hammering first novel…This suspenseful espionage tale is a rousing Act 2 to the excitement of TV’s The Americans and the novels of Chris Pavone.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“The Russia page-turner that should be on everyone’s list.”New York Post
Karen Cleveland is a former CIA analyst. She has master’s degrees from Trinity College Dublin (international peace studies) and Harvard University (public policy). Cleveland lives in northern Virginia with her husband and two young sons. This is her first novel.
Loading
Title:Need To Know: A NovelFormat:Audio Book (CD)Dimensions:1 × 1 × 1 inPublished:January 23, 2018Publisher:Penguin Random House Audio Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0525530592

ISBN - 13:9780525530596

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Perhaps there will be two or three readers out there who manage to finish the first chapter of this terrific debut and put it down for more than an hour. But they’ll be back. And they’ll devour Need to Know like the rest of us, skipping lunch, losing sleep, turning pages until the end, where we’re all left waiting for more.”—John Grisham“This is a compelling debut about a timely issue.…Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena’s thrillers and Chris Pavone’s The Expats (2012), and for just about everyone who loves the thrill of finding themselves in a book that can’t be put down.”—Booklist (starred review)   “[A] pulse-hammering first novel…This suspenseful espionage tale is a rousing Act 2 to the excitement of TV’s The Americans and the novels of Chris Pavone.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “The Russia page-turner that should be on everyone’s list.”—New York Post“Prediction: If you read chapter one, you’ll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you’ll miss dinner, stay up far too late, and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb.”—Lee Child“Need to Know carves out a uniquely compelling space among thrillers: high-stakes international intrigue combined with high-drama domestic suspense. These richly overlapping layers of tension create a fast-paced, relentlessly gripping read.”—Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Expats “I am consumed with awe that this is a debut novel. Breathtaking, heart-pounding, it manages to be at once intimate and sweeping, characterful and plot-driven. Need to Know is a really astonishing achievement for any writer, let alone a first-time novelist. I love it!”—Louise Penny, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Chief Inspector Gamache Series“I raced through this gripping tale of domesticity and deceit. Karen Cleveland deliciously ratchets up the tension at every turn. You won’t be able to put it down until the final, stunning page!”—Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door  “Heart-poundingly suspenseful and heart-wrenchingly insightful, Need to Know hums with authentic detail, crisp storytelling, and characters that will long stay in your thoughts—a gripping thriller with real psychological depth.”—JP Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before “Hold on tight! What a story, brilliantly told. An espionage thriller from deep within the heart of the CIA, told from a woman’s point of view. More modern than tomorrow. Absolutely gripping.”—Terry Hayes, New York Times bestselling author of I Am a Pilgrim“Karen Cleveland is the real deal—an exciting new voice in thrillers. Scarpetta would call her friend.”—Patricia Cornwell, #1 New York Times bestselling author