Never Tell A Lie by Hallie EphronNever Tell A Lie by Hallie Ephron

Never Tell A Lie

byHallie Ephron

Mass Market Paperback | December 29, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.84 online 
$10.99 list price
Earn 54 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“[A] richly atmospheric tale. You can imagine Hitchcock curling up with this one.”
USA Today

Author Hallie Ephron’s fast paced and disturbingly creepy Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride that maestro Alfred Hitchcock would have been proud to call his own. A descent into gripping suburban terror, this stunner by the Ellen Nehr Award-winning mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe has been called “a snaky, unsettling tale of psychological suspense” by the Seattle Times. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and classic gothic mystery will adore this supremely suspenseful and consistently surprising story of a yard sale gone terribly wrong.

Hallie Ephron is theNew York Timesbestselling author ofNever Tell a Lie,Come and Find Me, andThere Was an Old Woman. She is the mystery reviewer for theBoston Globe. She grew up in Beverly Hills, the daughter of Hollywood screenwriters, and lives near Boston, Massachusetts.
Loading
Title:Never Tell A LieFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 0.72 inPublished:December 29, 2009Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061567167

ISBN - 13:9780061567162

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Never tell a lie Ending was disappointment. Good character development but too tidy at the end
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from By the number mystery I guess I have been spoiled by Thomas H. Cook, who never fails to amaze me with his layered and intelligent mysteries. Hallie Ephron’s debut novel Never Tell A Lie, while not horrible, wasn’t all that the praise had promised. Ivy and her handsome husband, David, are hosting a yard sale at their Victorian home. Ivy is hugely pregnant and she’s nesting like crazy, trying to rid the house of years of accumulated junk – most of which belonged to the previous owner. She is approached by a woman, Melinda, with whom she went to high school. Melinda used to play in Ivy and David’s house as a child and she asks if she can see it once more. David offers to give her a tour and Melinda disappears. Sounds pretty fishy, eh? What follows is a by-the-numbers mystery where Ivy and David must fight to prove their innocence and everything is suspect. The plot unravels at a pretty quick pace but it’s a clunker. Puzzle pieces turn up relatively easily and lock into place without too much effort and even Ephron’ s attempts to toss the reader some plausible red herrings are only mildly diverting. Ultimately a book like this depends on the reader’s investment in the character. Ivy isn’t unlikable; she actually manages quite well considering she’s nine months pregnant. She’s resilient and smart and figures out the mystery of Melinda’s disappearance quite handily. I just didn’t care.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fast-paced read Never Tell a Lie is a simple and quick murder mystery involving a husband, his pregnant wife and a highschool classmate. I did enjoy it however, I found that the author was a little to liberal (or perhaps obvious is a better word) with her hints and clues. Ms. Ephron is certainly not up to par with the better known writers of the genre but it was still an entertaining and fast-paced read.
Date published: 2010-04-28

Editorial Reviews

“The plot is as cleverly structured as one of Mary Higgins Clark’s, but Ephron’s writing is vastly better.”