Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow by Jessica TownsendNevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow

byJessica Townsend

Hardcover | October 31, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.90 online 
$23.49 list price save 11%
Earn 105 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.

It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.

Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.
Jessica Townsend lives on the Sunshine Coast in Australia, but has lived on and off in London for a few years. She was a copywriter for eight years, and in a previous role, was the editor of a children's wildlife magazine for Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo. Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow is her first novel.
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

by Jessica Townsend

$12.99

Pre-order online

Not available in stores

Title:Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan CrowFormat:HardcoverDimensions:480 pages, 9.41 × 7.24 × 0.98 inPublished:October 31, 2017Publisher:Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316508888

ISBN - 13:9780316508889

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST READ *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployee Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow was an absolutely magical read. It’s been a long time since I last experienced such truly wonderful world building. Imagine the wondrous world of Harry Potter if Hogwarts had held try-outs for admission. Our main character, Morrigan, is a cursed child. She is resented by her entire town while being blamed for every small misfortune to befall its population. Exactly when everything seems hopeless, Morrigan is saved by a mysterious man wielding magical powers and adventure ensues. The story continues to present a quirky and magical overseer, a transforming hotel, a mischievous best friend and a darkly imagined villain. Adults and children alike will rejoice after reading this heartwarming tale that teaches you to believe in yourself and to enjoy life to the fullest. Perfect for fans of The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling, Matilda by Roald Dahl and Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis. *This book promotes self-discovery and encourages readers to embrace whatever special talent makes them unique! It also inspires readers to find family wherever they feel most loved.
Date published: 2017-05-23

Editorial Reviews

"The magical elements are well-written and clever....but the core of this novel lies in Morrigan's realization of her own value, of being a person worth attention and affection. A dark, mystical, and emotional look at a girl who has a complex relationship with magic in a sophisticated and lushly described world."
-The Bulletin