Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow by Jessica TownsendNevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsendsticker-burst

Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan Crow

byJessica Townsend

Hardcover | October 31, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.93 online 
$23.49 list price save 27%
Earn 85 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

An instantNew York Timesbestseller!
"A Harry Potter-esque adventure." --Time Magazine
A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.
But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.
Jessica Townsend lives on the Sunshine Coast in Australia, but has lived on and off in London for a few years. She was a copywriter for eight years, and in a previous role, was the editor of a children's wildlife magazine for Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo.Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crowis her first novel.
Loading
Title:Nevermoor: The Trials Of Morrigan CrowFormat:HardcoverDimensions:480 pages, 8.25 × 5.75 × 1.75 inPublished:October 31, 2017Publisher:Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316508888

ISBN - 13:9780316508889

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING "What's the Things-in-Jars Room?" "It's where I keep all my things in jars." The Trials of Morrigan Crow tells the story of Morrigan Crow, a cursed child who is blame for everything bad that happens around her due to the day she was born on. It follows her as she's whisked away to another world and made to participate in a competition to join an elite society. I had heard that this gave people Harry Potter vibes, and I'm always a bit wary when I hear things like that, so I didn't go into this book with too high expectations. However, even if I had, I'm sure I would have adored this story, its world and its characters just as much. The magic in this book was, to put it mildly, out of this world amazing. I've never felt something that felt so magical and whimsical at the same time, and I adored that. On top of that, the world building was present without being overbearing, and it made things flow extremely well. Add to that the fascinating characters (who I hope will all get spin-off series because wow) and the giant talking cat, and this story was perfect for me. I'll even go as far as to say that I liked this better than Harry Potter, which is a huge deal for me. This is a new favourite of mine, and I wish I had it as a kid. Everyone should read this, no matter their age.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and Whimsy! I thoroughly enjoyed reading Nevermoor, and I hope to read more about this world in the future. A great read for anyone who is a fan of Harry Potter or Series of Unfortunate Events.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful A delightful tale that's a little bit scary and a whole lot magical. Morrigan Crow has just one wish, to live. She knows that is not going to happen. Like all other children born on Eventide, she is cursed and destined to die with the coming of the next age. All this changes with the unexpected appearance of Jupiter North and his offer of escape to Morrigan. From the moment she accepts his strange but welcome offer, her life changes in ways she could never have imagined. I was totally enchanted by this story. Morrigan is caught up in dreadful plight not of her own making. She want to be like other kids, have friends and play, but no one will come near her, not even her own family. She is ostracised with no where to turn for help. Middle school readers will enjoy following along as Morrigan explores the new life that Jupiter has brought her to. He has opened the door, but then left it up to her to walk through and embrace the opportunities. Author Jessica Townsend has created a complex world and her vivid descriptions have brought it to life. I could clearly picture Morrigan and her new friend Hawthorne exploring the Deucalion Hotel where she lives with Jupiter and their many unusual guests. I think the smoking room, it's not what you imagine, would be my favourite place to hide away. I love this story and eagerly await the next book in the Nevermoor series. For younger readers, I also recommend the magical series Whatever After by Sarah Mlyowski. If you like the idea of a magical hotel, then you'll also enjoy The Supernormal Sleuthing Service: The Lost Legacy by Gwenda Bond & Christopher Rowe. #IndigoEmployee
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST READ *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployee Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow was an absolutely magical read. It’s been a long time since I last experienced such truly wonderful world building. Imagine the wondrous world of Harry Potter if Hogwarts had held try-outs for admission. Our main character, Morrigan, is a cursed child. She is resented by her entire town while being blamed for every small misfortune to befall its population. Exactly when everything seems hopeless, Morrigan is saved by a mysterious man wielding magical powers and adventure ensues. The story continues to present a quirky and magical overseer, a transforming hotel, a mischievous best friend and a darkly imagined villain. Adults and children alike will rejoice after reading this heartwarming tale that teaches you to believe in yourself and to enjoy life to the fullest. Perfect for fans of The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling, Matilda by Roald Dahl and Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis. *This book promotes self-discovery and encourages readers to embrace whatever special talent makes them unique! It also inspires readers to find family wherever they feel most loved.
Date published: 2017-05-23

Editorial Reviews

"Exciting, whimsical, and colorful, this first book in a planned series will be a favorite with readers who love fantasy and adventure."-A Mighty Girl