New Selected Poems Of Seamus Heaney by Seamus HeaneyNew Selected Poems Of Seamus Heaney by Seamus Heaney

New Selected Poems Of Seamus Heaney

bySeamus Heaney

Paperback | April 2, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 95 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


This volume contains a selection of work from each of Seamus Heaney's published books of poetry up to and including the Whitbread prize-winning collection, The Haw Lantern (1987).

'His is 'close-up' poetry - close up to thought, to the world, to the emotions. Few writers at work today, in verse or fiction, can give the sense of rich, fecund, lived life that Heaney does.' John Banville

'More than any other poet since Wordsworth he can make us understand that the outside world is not outside, but what we are made of.' John Carey

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966, and was followed by poetry, criticism and translations which established him as the leading poet of his generation. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and twice won the Whitbread Book of...
Title:New Selected Poems Of Seamus HeaneyFormat:PaperbackPublished:April 2, 2002Publisher:Faber & Faber Agency

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0571143725

ISBN - 13:9780571143726

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great collection Good intro to a great poet
Date published: 2017-01-06

From Our Editors

Few living English speaking poets living attract as ardent a following as Seamus Heaney. Drawing his subject matter from life in his native Ireland and personal experience, Heaney is noted as much for the evocative quality of his verse as for its clarity and straightforwardness. Reminiscent at times of Gerard Manley Hopkins, William Wordsworth, Thomas Hardy and Dante, Heaney received the Nobel Prize for literature in 1995. New Selected Poems is Heaney’s 10th book and includes selections of his verse from 1966-1987.