Nickel Bay Nick

Paperback | October 16, 2014

byDean Pitchford

not yet rated|write a review
Perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt, this heartfelt coming-of-age story will make you believe in the power of second chances.
 
Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle is already having the worst Christmas ever – his dad’s bakery is going bankrupt and his mom is spending the holidays with her new family. To make things worse, Nickel Bay Nick, the anonymous Good Samaritan who leaves hundred-dollar bills around Nickel Bay at Christmastime, is a no-show, so this year the rest of the town is as miserable as Sam. When he stumbles upon the secret identity of this mysterious do-gooder, Sam is stunned to learn that he might now be his town’s only hope. But before he can rescue Nickel Bay, Sam has to learn the skills of a spy and unravel some even darker secrets that will change his life forever.

"Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar's Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt's Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011).... This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round."—School Library Journal

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.97 online
$8.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt, this heartfelt coming-of-age story will make you believe in the power of second chances. Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle is already having the worst Christmas ever – his dad’s bakery is going bankrupt and his mom is spending the holidays with her new family. To make things worse, Nick...

Dean Pitchford is the author of Captain Nobody and The Big One-Oh and also an Oscar®-winning songwriter. He wrote the lyrics to the Oscar®-winning song “Fame,” and the screenplay and lyrics for the hit movie Footloose. Most recently, he has been involved with the stage musical version and new film adaptation of Footloose as well as the...

other books by Dean Pitchford

The Big One-Oh
The Big One-Oh

Kobo ebook|Jul 9 2009

$7.99

Footloose (Songbook)
Footloose (Songbook)

Kobo ebook|Jun 1 1999

$25.19 online$32.63list price(save 22%)
Captain Nobody
Captain Nobody

Kobo ebook|Jul 9 2009

$7.99

see all books by Dean Pitchford
Format:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 7.71 × 5.06 × 0.66 inPublished:October 16, 2014Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147512271

ISBN - 13:9780147512277

Customer Reviews of Nickel Bay Nick

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Nickel Bay Nick:"Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar's Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt's Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011). In the best tradition of Christmas stories, it's a bit of a tearjerker as Sam discovers just why Mr. Wells cares so much about him and learns to forgive his own parents. This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round."—School Library Journal"Sam’s a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way... Crime does pay off—to the benefit of others—in this enjoyable novel."—Kirkus Reviews Accolades for Dean Pitchford:Captain Nobody has been nominated for 13 State Award lists: FL, IL, KS, MN, MO, NH, NM (2 separate years), NY, OK, SC, TN, VA. Audio edition was nominated for a 2010 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.The Big One-Oh has been nominated for 5 State Award Lists: KS, MD, MO, NH, SC. Audio edition was nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.