No Parking At The End Times

Hardcover | February 24, 2015

byBryan Bliss

not yet rated|write a review

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail's parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the "end of the world." Because now they're living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right.

But maybe it's too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss's thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.45 online
$21.99 list price (save 29%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.Abigail's parents never should have made ...

From the Jacket

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end.But it didn't.Of course it didn't.Now they are living in their van on the streets of San Francisco, three thousand miles away from home. They hop from soup kitchen to church for their meals. They wash up in public bathrooms. They move the van to a new parking spot when the cops bang...

Bryan Bliss has worked with teenagers for more than ten years. He holds an MFA from Seattle Pacific University. This is his first novel. He lives with his family in Minneapolis.

other books by Bryan Bliss

Meet Me Here
Meet Me Here

Hardcover|May 31 2016

$21.96 online$21.99list price
Format:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.93 inPublished:February 24, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062275410

ISBN - 13:9780062275417

Customer Reviews of No Parking At The End Times

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Surpringsing thought-provoking It all started when Abigail’s father lost his job. He went looking for a sign and he found Brother John. Her parents started sending Brother John donations until finally, they sold their house, packed up Abigail and her brother, and drove to San Francisco to be with Brother John when the world ended. Except it didn’t end. And now they’re stuck living in their van, Abigail’s brother Aaron keeps disappearing at night, and there’s no sign from their parents that they’re going home. Abigail’s trying to hold her family together but is she strong enough? I ended up being pleasantly surprised at how much this book made me think while reading it. The world supposedly almost ended a few times since I’ve been born and the circumstances Abigail and her family find themselves in are very real. People believe and they do whatever it takes to keep themselves and their family safe in the way they believe is best. It’s on the news every time an ‘end date’ is coming but I never really stopped to think about what happens to those people when the end doesn’t come. I liked Abigail and her bond with her brother. I felt for them both. Abigail was doing the best she could, balancing the line between wanting to trust her parents and knowing her brother’s distrust of them was earned. It was hard to read as Abigail realized just how deeply her parents, father especially, believed in Brother John and how far he would go in order to please him. Every time she got a little hope, it was cruelly taken away. Aaron was angry and sullen and I understood him just as much as I understood Abigail’s need to believe in her parents. Neither of them got a choice, no one ever asked them what they wanted or what they believed. The whole plot was pretty simple with it being about Abigail dealing with the fact that the world didn’t end and her father believing they needed to trust Brother John, who of course had reasons to why it didn’t end. I liked that it stayed simple and didn’t try to bring in too many issues or twists. It made me focus on the questions the book was bringing up. Your parents are supposed to be people you can trust and depend on so what are you supposed to do when you realize their judgment is flawed? Overall, it was a quick read, under 300 pages, but it raised some good questions that I’ll be thinking about, especially next time the world’s supposed to end. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-02-10

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Bliss has worked with teenagers, and it shows—his characters are not stereotypical “teens” but human beings who must face and overcome unique problems. A fine debut.”