No Parking At The End Times

Hardcover | February 24, 2015

byBryan Bliss

not yet rated|write a review

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail's parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the "end of the world." Because now they're living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right.

But maybe it's too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss's thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.Abigail's parents never should have made ...

From the Jacket

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end.But it didn't.Of course it didn't.Now they are living in their van on the streets of San Francisco, three thousand miles away from home. They hop from soup kitchen to church for their meals. They wash up in public bathrooms. They move the van to a new parking spot when the cops bang...

Bryan Bliss has worked with teenagers for more than ten years. He holds an MFA from Seattle Pacific University. This is his first novel. He lives with his family in Minneapolis.

other books by Bryan Bliss

Meet Me Here
Meet Me Here

Hardcover|May 31 2016

$19.90 online$21.99list price(save 9%)
Format:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.93 inPublished:February 24, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062275410

ISBN - 13:9780062275417

Customer Reviews of No Parking At The End Times

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Bliss has worked with teenagers, and it shows—his characters are not stereotypical “teens” but human beings who must face and overcome unique problems. A fine debut.”