Nobody's Princess by Esther Friesner

Nobody's Princess

byEsther Friesner

Kobo ebook | March 25, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Helen of Sparta wants to be more than a princess and a pretty face—she wants to be a hero.

The traditions of ancient Sparta would have Helen know her place: a beautiful princess, a loyal daughter, a perfect bride. But Helen wants adventure, and she's not looking back. Not one to count on the gods to take care of her, she sets out to see the world and seek her own fate with steely determination. Her rebellious will makes Helen dangerous enemies—such as the self-proclaimed "son of Zeus" Theseus—but it also gains her true friends, from the famed huntress Atalanta to the young priestess who is the Oracle of Delphi. If she is strong enough, if she is cunning enough, if she is brave enough, Helen will find her destiny . . . but what does destiny have in store for her? 

In Nobody's Princess, author Esther Friesner deftly weaves together history and myth as she takes a new look at the girl who will become Helen of Troy. The back of the book includes further facts about Helen of Troy and Ancient Greece. Hand to readers who love Tamora Pierce and Leigh Bardugo, particularly if they just finished Wonder Woman: Warbringer and want to know more about Helen of Troy.

"A must-read for fans of fantasy and mythology."—VOYA

"Along the way, Friesner skillfully exposes larger issues of women's rights, human bondage, and individual destiny. It's a rollicking good story."—Booklist

Title:Nobody's PrincessFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:March 25, 2008Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:037584984X

ISBN - 13:9780375849848

Appropriate for ages: 12 - 16

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nobody's Princess A good book. Quick read. Good for people who are interested in Greek mythology. An interesting perspective.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Intriguing It was pretty good. i dont know what kept me reading, I think it was the author's style of writing and the strong willed character. #plumreviews
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay I loved the spunky strong female main character and the storyline was interesting enough.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Political Intrigue This book features strong female characters, which is a plus, but these characters are rather shallow and cliché. The book itself did little for me, but perhaps Friesner's writing style just isn't for me. I imagine this book would greatly appeal to someone who has read and loved her books in the past or holds a deep love for historical fiction and/or stories set in Ancient Greece.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great concept. This was such a fun new way to look at a classic story. I enjoyed imagining a little Helen making the choices that would mould her into the woman we've all heard of. Quite a quick and easy read.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked it, not loved it. An interesting re-telling of Helen of Troy before she became Helen of Troy. From the very beginning Helen has no interest in the activities girls are supposed to learn, instead she wants to learn how to fight like her brothers. And their teacher is willing to teach her secretly, with her dressed as a boy so everyone assumes she's simply one of her brothers' friends. She's strong and stubborn and unwilling to be a liability to anyone. At the end of this book, Helen is still only fourteen years old and hasn't really shown an interest in boys. Her twin sister is married and Helen will one day but it's not at the top of her list as it was her sister. She's seen a lot and learned a lot on her travels with her two brothers but she's still quite innocent. I really liked how it was shown just how much power people believed the Greek Gods had over them. There's mentions of praying and sacrificing to them throughout the whole book and small little details like that really added to the overall plot.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This is a great book. The main character Helen is just so funny you will fall in love with her. This story will keep you turning page 'till the end. I can't wait to read the sequl nobody's prize.
Date published: 2010-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nobody's Book... So from all the good reviews about this book, I decided to give it try. I really enjoyed it the beginning but then...what happend? Did the author get too lazy to write about some good stuff? Did Helen just get boring? I don't know the reason. To be honest I couldn't even finish the book from how boring it was, No romance in what I read and I read like half the book. The adventure wasn't even described that well, and neither were the characters. Not interested in reading the next book "Nobody's Prize" Not interested in finshing the book.
Date published: 2009-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Take on Helen! Friesner has taken classic Greek myths and rewrote them into a tale about the infamous Helen of Troy (Princess of Sparta at the moment). Anyone who likes mythology will find Friesner's ability to blend mythological characters into her story appealing, as will Helen's spunky, clever attitude. What really sets this story apart from others that use mythology as a backdrop for plot/character creation is the role of Aphrodite. While other stories might have Artemis as the main character's patron diety (focussing on her role as a virgin goddess in order to suggest chastity in the reader), Helen's patron deity is Aphrodite, godess of love and beauty. While the common take on Aphrodite reads her role of goddess of love to only mean sexual love, Friesner's Helen sees Aphrodite of the embodiment of all forms of love: the love between sisters or brothers, the love of a parent for their children, and unrequited love. Anyone who like Tamora Pierce's knight Alanna will like this version of Helen, and vice versa.
Date published: 2009-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nobody should miss it Helen is going to be Queen of the Spartans, but before she takes on this responsibility she wants to have a little bit of fun, and see the world. She learns to hunt, ride a horse, and run away from her guards. Fun, fast paced and completely historically inacurate. Great read
Date published: 2008-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Historical Fiction with a Kick Butt Heroine Helen is a girl who will become famous as Helen of Troy. This is a fictional account of her childhood. Her twin sister thinks she gets everything and her life is easy because she is the pretty one. Helen doesn't think so. She doesn't want to spend her life trapped with a spindle and thread. She may be the future queen of Sparta (as the eldest daughter) but she doesn't want a husband because of politcal alliances. She wants to be free to do what she wants - learn to fight and use a sword. Travel and have adventures. And that is what she sets out to do. This is an awesome book and I can't wait to read the sequel Nobody's Prize. Anyone who is a Tamora Pierce fan would love these books!
Date published: 2008-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Novel! Helen of Sparta is determined to escape the confines of her life as a princess and the future queen. Unlike her girly twin sister, Helen longs to take combat training, go on heroic quests, and make her own decisions. Nobody's Princess, by Esther Friesner is a wonderfully well written novel with a captivating and exciting plot that is filled with tons of humour, history, and action. This fast paced novel will keep readers turning the pages as they read about the extraordinary princess who became the famous Helen of Troy. Nicole
Date published: 2008-02-08