Not The Killing Type

by Lorna Barrett

Penguin Publishing Group | July 1, 2014 | Mass Market Paperbound

Not The Killing Type is rated 5 out of 5 by 4.
In the latest New York Times bestselling Booktown Mystery, amateur sleuth and bookstore owner Tricia Miles gets caught up in a local election that turns lethal . . .

It’s November in Stoneham, New Hampshire, and time for the Chamber of Commerce elections. The long-standing Chamber president is being challenged by a former lover—Tricia’s own sister, Angelica. Also throwing his hat in the ring is small business owner Stan Berry. Unfortunately, Stan isn’t in the race for long.

When Stan is found murdered, his political rivals become suspects. Angelica is going to need more than a vote of confidence from her sister—she needs Tricia to clear her name so she can win the election.

Tricia soon uncovers a ballot box full of lies and betrayals, and a chamber full of people who had grudges against the victim. But were they serious enough to lead to murder? It’s up to Tricia to pull the lever on a killer before it’s curtains for someone else.

Format: Mass Market Paperbound

Dimensions: 336 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 0.88 in

Published: July 1, 2014

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0425262111

ISBN - 13: 9780425262115

Found in: Mystery and Suspense

save 0%

  • In stock online
$9.99 list price

$9.99 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life is a tangled web in Booktown; excellent writing as always Seventh in the Booktown Mystery series, several changes are in the works. There are surprises in store as the Chamber of Commerce prepares for elections, Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Christmas holiday events, keeping the shopkeepers hopping preparing for the hoped-for onslaught of holiday shoppers. The Chamber elections have never taken long because no one has ever run against the incumbent Bob, but he is in for a surprise when Angelica decides to run. Another surprise entry happens at the meeting as a newcomer throws his hat in the ring. With only three people running for Chamber president, it would be easy to think this would not take long, but once again a body has been found by Tricia, and it's the body of Stan Berry, not the most popular man in town, but one of the candidates. Tricia's life is getting very problematic, aside from or maybe because of the obvious effect of discovering yet another body and the embarrassing fact of where she found it, but also with the number of other events calling for her attention. Her relationship with Chief Baker would seem to be on the skids if it weren't going downhill so slowly. She is thinking of calling it off altogether. At the same time, her ex-husband Christopher is in town and seems determined to reconcile. Will Chief Baker wake up to the fact he is losing her? Will Christopher's tactics, telling the villagers that he and Tricia were thinking of reconciling actually work? And what about the new man in town? Is he a suspect or can she trust him? Life is as much of a tangled web as ever for Tricia and is taking a toll on her. A meltdown is in the offing, but with Angelica running for Chamber president, Ginny getting married with Tricia as one of her bridesmaids, a murder to solve, and her assistant Pixie determined to dress the store up for the holidays, can the meltdown be avoided? Another wonderfully full throttle Booktown mystery with never a dull moment and an ending that took me completely by surprise, Lorna Barrett's cozy series never disappoints. Delicious recipes included.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Of all the Booktown Mysteries, I think I enjoyed this one the most. Angelica is dying to be elected President of the Chamber of Commerce, but certainly not enough to kill for it. When a fellow candidate's life is brutally snuffed, Trish has to dig deep to find the real killer so that her sister won't end up sporting prison orange. But the twisty road to the truth discloses a slew of ugly secrets -- secrets someone might be willing to kill for. The ending stunned me--it was a true shocker, but it was also very satisfying. I love this series, and LOVED this book. The romantic elements were teasingly fun, and I'm anxious to see how they pan out in the next installment.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such love for Not The Killing Type I love the Booktown Mystery series and just finished Not the Killing type it is such a wonderful book. I love being transported to Stoneham, NH and fall especially when it is summer here. I enjoyed reading this installment and hope we get to read a new one soon! I have read all 7 in this series and it is truly one of my most favorites. If you are new to Cozy Mysteries Start with the Booktown Mysteries, I hope you will fall in love with Lorna Barrett's Series just like I have. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big surprises in store for Bookitown! Review based on Advance Reading Copy (ARC) Seventh in the Booktown Mystery series, several changes are in the works. There are surprises in store as the Chamber of Commerce prepares for elections, Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Christmas holiday events, keeping the shopkeepers hopping preparing for the hoped-for onslaught of holiday shoppers. With only three people running for Chamber president, it would be easy to think this would not take long, but once again a body has been found by Tricia, and it's the body of Stan Berry, not the most popular man in town, but one of the candidates. Tricia's life is getting very problematic, aside from the obvious effect from discovering yet another body and the number of events calling for her attention. Her relationship with Chief Baker would seem to be on the skids if it weren't going downhill so slowly. She is thinking of calling it off altogether. At the same time, her ex-husband is in town and seems determined to reconcile. Will Chief Baker wake up to the fact he is losing her? Will Christopher's tactics, telling the villagers that they were thinking of reconciling actually work? And what about the new man in town? Is he a suspect or can she trust him? Life is as much of a tangled web as ever for Tricia and is taking a toll on her. A meltdown is in the offing, but with Angelica running for Chamber president, Ginny getting married with Tricia as one of her bridesmaids, a murder to solve, and her assistant, Pixie, determined to dress the store up for the holidays, can the meltdown be avoided? Another wonderfully full throttle Booktown mystery with never a dull moment and an ending that took me completely by surprise, Lorna Barrett's cozy series never disappoints. Delicious recipes included. Book is due for release July 2013. Disclaimer: I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2013-06-12

– More About This Product –

Not The Killing Type

Not The Killing Type

by Lorna Barrett

Format: Mass Market Paperbound

Dimensions: 336 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 0.88 in

Published: July 1, 2014

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0425262111

ISBN - 13: 9780425262115

From the Publisher

In the latest New York Times bestselling Booktown Mystery, amateur sleuth and bookstore owner Tricia Miles gets caught up in a local election that turns lethal . . .

It’s November in Stoneham, New Hampshire, and time for the Chamber of Commerce elections. The long-standing Chamber president is being challenged by a former lover—Tricia’s own sister, Angelica. Also throwing his hat in the ring is small business owner Stan Berry. Unfortunately, Stan isn’t in the race for long.

When Stan is found murdered, his political rivals become suspects. Angelica is going to need more than a vote of confidence from her sister—she needs Tricia to clear her name so she can win the election.

Tricia soon uncovers a ballot box full of lies and betrayals, and a chamber full of people who had grudges against the victim. But were they serious enough to lead to murder? It’s up to Tricia to pull the lever on a killer before it’s curtains for someone else.

About the Author

Lorna Barrett is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including such titles as Book ClubbedChapter and Hearse, Bookmarked for Death, and Murder on the Half Shelf.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries:

“Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar® finalist and author of One Was a Soldier

“Lorna Barrett’s new cozy creation…has it all: wonderful old books, quirky characters, a clever mystery, and a cat named Miss Marple!”—Roberta Isleib, author of Asking for Murder

“A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine make Barrett’s delightful debut mystery everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!”—Leann Sweeney, author of The Cat, the Mill, and the Murder

“Tightly plotted and paced to keep you turning the pages, this series is indeed getting better with each book.”—Gumshoe Review

“Charming…An engaging whodunit.”—Publishers Weekly

“Sheer entertainment. A good rollicking read.”—Roundtable Reviews

“Perfect . . . for mystery aficionados.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Fans of cozy mysteries can’t go wrong with this series.”—Fresh Fiction