Notes From Underground by Fyodor M. DostoevskyNotes From Underground by Fyodor M. Dostoevsky

Notes From Underground

byFyodor M. Dostoevsky

Paperback | October 1, 2000

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 130 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


"Backgrounds and Sources" includes relevant writings by Dostoevsky, among them "Winter Notes on Summer Impressions," the author 's account of a formative trip to the West. New to the Second Edition are excerpts from V. F. Odoevksy 's "Russian Nights" and I. S. Turgenev 's "Hamlet of Shchigrovsk District." In "Responses," Michael Katz links this seminal novel to the theme of the underground man in six famous works, two of them new to the Second Edition: an excerpt from M. E. Saltykov-Shchedrin 's The Swallows, Woody Allen 's Notes from the Overfed, Robert Walser 's The Child, an excerpt from Ralph Ellison 's The Invisible Man, an excerpt from Yevgeny Zamyatin 's We, and an excerpt from Jean-Paul Sartre 's Erostratus. "Criticism" brings together eleven interpretations by both Russian and Western critics from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, two of them new to the Second Edition. Included are essays by Nikolai K. Mikhailovsky, Vasily Rozanov, Lev Shestov, M. M. Bakhtin, Ralph E. Matlaw, Victor Erlich, Robert Louis Jackson, Gary Saul Morson, Richard H. Weisberg, Joseph Frank, and Tzvetan Todorov. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are also included.
One of the most powerful and significant authors in all modern fiction, Fyodor Dostoevsky was the son of a harsh and domineering army surgeon who was murdered by his own serfs (slaves), an event that was extremely important in shaping Dostoevsky's view of social and economic issues. He studied to be an engineer and began work as a draf...
Title:Notes From UndergroundFormat:PaperbackDimensions:8.41 × 5.16 × 0.56 inPublished:October 1, 2000Publisher:W. W. Norton & CompanyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0393976122

ISBN - 13:9780393976120