Nothing by Annie BarrowsNothing by Annie Barrows

Nothing

byAnnie Barrows

Hardcover | September 5, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.24 online 
$21.99 list price save 7%
Earn 101 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books!

This teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid.

Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate.

They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered. But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought.

It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.

Annie Barrows is the #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and the author of The Truth According to Us, and the Ivy + Bean chapter book series. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society was a Time and USA Today best book of the year. Her books have been nominated for many a...
Loading
Title:NothingFormat:HardcoverDimensions:224 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.81 inPublished:September 5, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062668234

ISBN - 13:9780062668233

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Two Hundred Pages Of Nothing In Short: I’m a little surprised that a book titled Nothing that promised me NOTHING surprised me when it was ACTUALLY A BOOK ABOUT NOTHING. (And my feelings are SO MIXED UP.) Before I begin talking about this book, do me a favour and close your eyes. Imagine that you’re texting your best friend in a hurry, with disjointed sentences and things that only make sense 50% of the time. Can you see it? All the ‘likes’ and the ‘OMGs’ and the analogies that make almost no sense because you’re freaking out about something. Have you ever told your best friend that if anyone read your texts, that you’d be committed into a mental institution as well as them because the trauma was irreparable? WELL, THAT’S WHAT READING THIS BOOK WAS LIKE. I feel like I was THROWN into a TWO HUNDRED PAGE TEXTING THING BETWEEN TWO BEST FRIENDS and I feel TRAUMATIZED as I come out on the other side. “Then that a****** Kellen comes over and starts leaning over Cora, right in front of Frankie. What the f***? He doesn’t know Frankie likes him? He’s a d***. And Cora’s squealing, ‘Get away, get awaaaay.’” Honestly, I WAS SO ANNOYED WITH THE WAY THIS ENTIRE BOOK WAS WRITTEN. It was disjointed, horrid and made me feel like someone with obscenely long nails was scratching their way up a blackboard. Nothing is told in alternate points of view between Charlotte and Frankie, two fifteen year old best friends with who get like ‘two hundred texts a day’ but ‘nothing’ ever happens to them and ALL THE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THEIR LIVES. Despite the fact that I read this book in less than a day, I kept thinking about how I WOULDN’T BE READING this book if it wasn’t a review copy. I just feel like despite I LOVE the Young Adult Genre, there are books like Nothing that I’ve outgrown and honestly, shouldn’t be reading. I didn’t enjoy this book at all, and I’m going to go and read something I know I’ll love right now! 2 stars.
Date published: 2017-11-21

Editorial Reviews

“Barrows, author of the Ivy + Bean chapter book series, has a knack for female friendships, and Charlotte and Frankie are a memorable pair.”