Nyxia by Scott ReintgenNyxia by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia

byScott Reintgen

Hardcover | September 12, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.81 online 
$23.99 list price save 13%
Earn 104 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross

Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller—the first in a trilogy—that has the nonstop action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space setting of Illuminae
 
What would you be willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune?
 
Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.
 
Forever.
 
Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.
 
But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.
 
The 100 meets Illuminae in this high-octane sci-fi thriller.” —Bustle
Scott Reintgen has spent his career as a teacher of English and creative writing in diverse urban communities in North Carolina. The hardest lesson he learned was that inspiration isn’t equally accessible for everyone. So he set out to write a novel for the front-row sleepers and back-row dreamers of his classrooms. He hopes that his f...
Loading
Title:NyxiaFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.5 × 5.75 × 1.27 inPublished:September 12, 2017Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0399556796

ISBN - 13:9780399556791

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome YA Sci-Fi This book was interesting. On its own, it’s just a regular competition in space but without cheesy love (and can I get an amen for how rare that is?!). The cast is quite racial diverse too which is fantastic to see. I am more interested in the sequel though. The corporation is clearly doing some crazy shit and manipulating people so much! I need to know why and how everything goes down now! It’s kind of like a mash-up of The Hunger Games with Illuminae? I get the feeling it’s more of an introduction to the series which is gonna get better. I find books like that are generally unreadable but this was cool.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good a very good read.interesting storyline
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting New Sci-Fi for teens and more! *I received an advanced copy from Indio in exchange for review Amazing high octane Sci-Fi perfect for fans of Enders Game and Illuminae. With a diverse and intriguing cast of characters you will definitely come back for more.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Read New Sci-Fi Thriller for Teens! *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployee Emmett, our main character, competes against nine other teenagers in a fierce competition of strength and intelligence. Recruited by a company named Babel Communications, only eight will be declared victorious by winning the chance to explore a mysterious planet named Eden. As further incentive, their families will be taken care of for life by receiving monetary compensation and the best possible health care. Each competitor has a reason to fight, but Babel is hiding secrets and there are new dangers introduced every day. Friendships form and rivalries are created. I loved the diverse cast of characters that Reintgen created, all strong and unique in their own way. Nyxia is the perfect new Sci-Fi thriller that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page. I cannot wait for the next installment! Perfect for fans of Red Rising by Pierce Brown and Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. *Nyxia focuses on perseverance and overcoming extreme hardships.
Date published: 2017-07-04

Editorial Reviews

"Fans of the 'Hunger Games' and the 'Maze Runner' series will enjoy this series opener." —SLJ"Both curious and suspicious at every turn, [Emmett] is an ideal narrator, and a sequel can’t come soon enough." —The Bulletin"Emmett’s self-deprecation, wit, and ability to see the good in others will keep readers riveted and eager for the next volume in this planned trilogy." —PW "Nyxia seems to have a mind of its own, but its mystery will carry over into the sequel, which cannot come soon enough." —VOYA