Nyxia by Scott ReintgenNyxia by Scott Reintgen

Nyxia

byScott Reintgen

Reinforced Library Binding | September 12, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$26.70 online 
$27.99 list price
Earn 134 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross

Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller—the first in a trilogy—that has the nonstop action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space setting of Illuminae
 
What would you be willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune?
 
Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.
 
Forever.
 
Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.
 
But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.
 
The 100 meets Illuminae in this high-octane sci-fi thriller.” —Bustle
Scott Reintgen has spent his career as a teacher of English and creative writing in diverse urban communities in North Carolina. The hardest lesson he learned was that inspiration isn’t equally accessible for everyone. So he set out to write a novel for the front-row sleepers and back-row dreamers of his classrooms. He hopes that his f...
Loading
Title:NyxiaFormat:Reinforced Library BindingDimensions:384 pages, 8.56 × 5.75 × 1.24 inPublished:September 12, 2017Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:039955680X

ISBN - 13:9780399556807

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I didn't expect to like the book as much as I did from the beginning it hooked me in.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute, Jaw Dropping Perfection Let’s make it official: Books set in space are the ABSOLUTE BEST! They’re always futuristic, which makes the world something you know as well as don’t and the plot twists that most of them house are absolutely INSANE. They almost always have morally ambiguous characters that you love and THEY’RE THE BEST, OKAY? I’ve had Scott Reintgen’s debut novel on my bookish radar for a while before I got the chance to read it and now that I’m done, I HAVE to say that Nyxia is ABSOLUTELY MIND BLOWING and the Reintgen is an EVIL GENIUS and I needed the next instalment in my life YESTERDAY. MY THOUGHTS: 1. The very first thing I felt as I flipped open this book was confusion. THERE WERE 10+ CHARACTERS INTRODUCED AND DESCRIBED ALL AT ONE TIME AND IT WAS HARD TO KEEP UP. And then the MC used the phrase ‘A politically correct suicide squad’ to describe them and I knew we were going to be okay. 2. It took a while for me to get past my initial confusion and remember all the characters but as I grew more accustomed to the world Nyxia was set in, the more I loved it. And obsessed about it. And needed answers and happy endings for my darling muffin characters. (P.s: If you can’t tell, I fell in love with the book) 3. Nyxia revolves around a group of 10 misfit, broken teenagers being taken into space and to another planet (Eden) that hosts sentient life forms (Adamites) and mine a substance worth billions of dollars (Nyxia) and over the course of their yearlong travel, they have to compete against each other in daily tests for only eight out of the ten will get send down and the other two, back to Earth. It was INTENSE, complicated, filled with adrenaline and twists and I was SAD AND HORRIFIED when I reached the end because I NEED BOOK TWO NOW. 4. I fell in love with Emmett. FAST. He was the PERFECT morally ambiguous character who questioned the boundaries of good and bad as well as right and wrong. I loved his determination and grit and NEED TO BE THE BEST. He was calculating and loyal and ruthless at times and I LOVED IT. 5. Nyxia was FILLED WITH 800,000 PLOT TWISTS THAT LEFT MY MOUTH HANGING AND MY HEAD CURSING SCOTT REINTGEN FOR PUTTING MY POOR HEART THROUGH IT ALL. I was blindsided, and all my #feels were thrown on a rollercoaster and it was one of the BEST EXPERIENCES EVER. 6. I loved the competitive atmosphere this book created. Nyxia contained an arena and tests worthy of The Hunger Games but set in SPACE and with VOLUNTARY TRIBUTES which just made it better. I loved the competition and the need to win in all the secondary characters especially Kaya. 7. REALLY, THIS BOOK WAS PERFECTION AND YOU NEED IT IN YOUR LIVES. Nyxia was EVERYTHING I thought it would be and more. A jaw dropping, PERFECT debut novel that is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Illuminae.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually enjoyed this! I really liked this novel. It's like Hunger Games meets Ender's Game. I thought that the main character of Emmett could have used a bit more development, but I'll wait until the sequel to make my determination on that. The rest of the characters are so diverse, and Reintgen does a good job of making each person an individual and memorable. Can't wait for the sequel!
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Read New Sci-Fi Thriller for Teens! *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployee Emmett, our main character, competes against nine other teenagers in a fierce competition of strength and intelligence. Recruited by a company named Babel Communications, only eight will be declared victorious by winning the chance to explore a mysterious planet named Eden. As further incentive, their families will be taken care of for life by receiving monetary compensation and the best possible health care. Each competitor has a reason to fight, but Babel is hiding secrets and there are new dangers introduced every day. Friendships form and rivalries are created. I loved the diverse cast of characters that Reintgen created, all strong and unique in their own way. Nyxia is the perfect new Sci-Fi thriller that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page. I cannot wait for the next installment! Perfect for fans of Red Rising by Pierce Brown and Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. *Nyxia focuses on perseverance and overcoming extreme hardships.
Date published: 2017-07-04

Editorial Reviews

"Fans of the 'Hunger Games' and the 'Maze Runner' series will enjoy this series opener." —SLJ"Both curious and suspicious at every turn, [Emmett] is an ideal narrator, and a sequel can’t come soon enough." —The Bulletin"Emmett’s self-deprecation, wit, and ability to see the good in others will keep readers riveted and eager for the next volume in this planned trilogy." —PW"Nyxia seems to have a mind of its own, but its mystery will carry over into the sequel, which cannot come soon enough." —VOYA