Odd One Out by Nic StoneOdd One Out by Nic Stone

Odd One Out

byNic Stone

Hardcover | October 9, 2018

see the collection LGBTQ+ Teen Reads

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.61 online 
$23.99 list price save 26%
Earn 88 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A BOSTON GLOBE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK OF 2018

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." -Teen Vogue

"Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness." -The New York Times
Atlanta native Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestselling Dear Martin, which Booklist called "vivid and powerful." Odd One Out is Nic's second novel and the book she wishes she'd had back when she was trying to figure out who it's okay to love.You can find Nic fangirling over her husband and sons on Twitter and Instagram...
Loading
Title:Odd One OutFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8.56 × 5.94 × 1.03 inShipping dimensions:8.56 × 5.94 × 1.03 inPublished:October 9, 2018Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1101939532

ISBN - 13:9781101939536

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story! This story was separated into three parts. Each part was narrated by a different character. This made the story very tense, while I was wondering what the other characters were thinking in the different narratives. The ending of each part was so emotional. There were major revelations each time from the different characters, which really built the tension until the next part. I loved Courtney and Jupiter. I was rooting from them right from the beginning, even though she was gay. They were so perfect with each other, so I wanted them to be together. However, things got complicated when Rae arrived. Jupiter liked Rae and Courtney liked Jupiter, while Rae liked both of them. It was a complicated set of relationships. I know many people don’t like reading about love triangles, but I don’t mind them. I’ve witnessed them in real life many times, so I can understand why they’re so prevalent in books. This love triangle was complex because of the different gender identities that were involved. I just loved this story! It’s an amazing, modern coming of age story. I received a copy of this book from Penguin Random House Canada in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rare Take on the Love Triangle Trope I received this arc at Book Expo 2018, but all opinions are my own. This is a book about a love triangle - and it is so messy and filled with the poor decision making typified of teenagers. I wouldn't normally seek out a book where a love triangle is the foremost part of the story, but I loved Stone's debut novel and thought I'd give this a try. This book has 3 POV sections, from Jupiter, Rae, and Coop. Coop and Jupiter have been friends for a decade, and Coop is interested in Jupiter, even though she is a lesbian. Rae moves to town and expresses interest in both Coop and Jupiter, and each of them consider reciprocating this interest. A lot of the issues could've been solved in this book by communication, and Rae is the catalyst to change the friendship dynamic. Pointing out these things, I mean to say this hits a lot of the traditional rom-com beats BUT it also has the diversity that the contemporary rom-com genre is generally lacking. The characters were fairly well developed, but my favourite characters were Brit and Golly - they were the most evolved teenage boy characters I think I've ever read. I hope this book finds a wide audience to share its message about the damage that fiercely adhering to self imposed labels can cause.
Date published: 2018-10-16

Read from the Book

I, Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV, Should Be a Very Sad DudeI should be devastated or pissed or deflated as I let myself into the house next door and climb the stairs to my best friend’s bedroom. I should be crushed that less than a month into my junior year of high school, my latest girlfriend kicked me to the curb like a pair of too-­small shoes.It’s ridiculous that I have to stop outside the door to get my act together so Best Friend won’t get suspicious, isn’t it? Rubbing my eyes so the whites look a little red, slumping my shoulders, hanging my head, and poking my bottom lip out just the slightest bit so I look sad . . .Best Friend doesn’t even look up from her phone when I open the door. Normally I’d be offended since I did all this work pretending sadness, but right now it’s a good thing she keeps her eyes fixed to the little screen. She’s sitting at her desk, laptop open, in one of those thin-­strapped tank tops—­nothing underneath, mind you, and she’s got a good bit more going on up there than most girls our age. She’s also wearing really small shorts, and she’s not small down bottom, either. In the words of her papi: “All chichis and culo, that girl . . .”And I can’t not notice. Been trying to ignore her *assets* since they started blooming, if you will, in seventh grade. Largely because I know she would kick me to the curb if she knew I thought of her . . . that way. But anyway, when I see her sitting there with her light brown skin on display like sun-­kissed sand and her hair plopped on top of her head in a messy-­bun thing, my devastated-­dumped-­dude act drops like a bad habit.I close my eyes. The image has already seared itself into my memory, but I need to pull myself back together. With my eyes still closed, I cross the room I know better than my own and drop down into the old La-­Z-­Boy that belonged to my dad.Despite the squeak of the springs in this chair, she doesn’t say a word.I crack one eye: no earbuds. There’s no way she doesn’t realize I’m in here. . . . She smiles at something on her phone, tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­taps around, and after literally two seconds, there’s the ping of an incoming text. She L’s-­O-­L.I sigh. Loudly. Like, overly loudly.Tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap-­tap. “You’re back early,” she says without looking up.“You should put some clothes on, Jupe.”“Pffft. Last I checked, you’re in my domain, peon.”Typical. “I need to talk to you,” I say.“So talk.”Ping! She reads. Chuckles.Who the hell is she even talking to?I take a deep breath. Wrangle a leash onto the green-­eyed monster bastard raging within. “I can’t.”She glares over her shoulder at me. “Don’t be difficult.” God.Even the stank-­face is a sight to behold. “You’re the one being difficult,” I say.“Oh, well, excuse me for feeling any opposition to you waltzing into my room without knocking and suggesting that I adapt to your uninvited presence.” She sets her phone down—­thank God—­faces her computer, and mutters, “Friggin’ patriarchy, I swear.”I smile and glance around the room: the unmade bed and piles of clothes—­dirty stuff on the floor near the closet, clean in a basket at the foot of the bed; the old TV and VHS player she keeps for my sake since she never uses them when I’m not here, or so she says; the photo on the dresser of me, her, my mom, and her dads on vacation in Jamaica six years ago; the small tower of community service and public speaking certificates and plaques stacked in the corner that she “just hasn’t gotten around” to hanging on the white walls.I’ll never forget my first time being in here ten years ago: she was six, and I was seven, and a week after Mama and I moved in next door, Jupe dragged me into this “domain” of hers because she wanted “to know more about my sadness.” She knew we’d moved because my dad died—­I told her that the day we met. But this was the day I hit her with the details: he was killed in a car crash and he’d been out of town and I hadn’t gotten to say goodbye.Still hate talking about this.I cried and cried on her bed, and Jupe wrapped her skinny arms around me and told me everything would be okay. She said she knew all about death because her bunny Migsy “got uterined cancers and the vet couldn’t save her.” And she told me that after a while it wouldn’t “hurt so bad,” but “I’ll be your friend when it hurts the most, Courtney.”And there she is: Jupiter Charity-­Sanchez at her computer, with her grass-­green fingernails, three studs in each ear, and a hoop through her right nostril, likely organizing some community event to bring “sustenance and smiles” to the local homeless or a boycott of some major retailer in protest of sweatshop conditions in Sri Lanka.Jupe—­my very, very best friend in the universe. Force, firebrand, future leader of America, I’m sure.This is home. She is home.“Did you pull together a donation for the Carl’s Closet clothing drive like I asked you to, loser?” she says.See?“I forgot,” I reply.She shakes her head. “So unreliab—­”Ping!She snorts when she reads this time.“Who are you texting?” I ask as she taps out her response.“If you must know, her name is Rae.”“Rae?”“Rae. She’s new. Just moved here.”“Why don’t I know her?”“She’s technically a sophomore.”“So why do you know her?”“What’s with the third degree, Coop?” She turns back to her computer.I grab a pair of balled socks from the clean-­clothes basket and lob it at her head.Bingo.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Odd One Out:An NPR Best Book of 2018!“For fans of authors who dig complex relationships, like Shannon M. Parker, Ashley Woodfolk and Misa Sugiura.” –Paste Magazine"Essential reading." –Booklist, Starred Review"An important and necessary love story." –SLJ"Stone challenges stereotypical notions of what it means to be straight, bisexual, or gay, showing how sexual identities and desires can be as complicated as the individual human brain." –PWPraise for Dear Martin:A 2018 BookExpo Editors' Buzz Selection!An Indies Introduce Selection!A Kids' Indie Next List pick!"Powerful, wrenching." –John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching. A must read!" –Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give"Painfully timely and deeply moving." –Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author"Raw and gripping." –Jason Reynolds, bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"Teens, librarians and teachers alike will find this book a godsend. . . . Vivid and powerful." –Booklist, Starred"A visceral portrait of a young man reckoning with the ugly, persistent violence of social injustice." –Publishers Weekly