Oeuvres - Collected Papers IV: Volume Iv: 1983-1999 by Armand BorelOeuvres - Collected Papers IV: Volume Iv: 1983-1999 by Armand Borel

Oeuvres - Collected Papers IV: Volume Iv: 1983-1999

byArmand Borel

Paperback | September 26, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$92.97 online 
$124.50 list price save 25%
Earn 465 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This book collects the papers published by A. Borel from 1983 to 1999. About half of them are research papers, written on his own or in collaboration, on various topics pertaining mainly to algebraic or Lie groups, homogeneous spaces, arithmetic groups (L2-spectrum, automorphic forms, cohomology and covolumes), L2-cohomology of symmetric or locally symmetric spaces, and to the Oppenheim conjecture. Other publications include surveys and personal recollections (of D. Montgomery, Harish-Chandra, and A. Weil), considerations on mathematics in general and several articles of a historical nature: on the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, on N. Bourbaki and on selected aspects of the works of H. Weyl, C. Chevalley, E. Kolchin, J. Leray, and A. Weil. The book concludes with an essay on H. Poincaré and special relativity. Some comments on, and corrections to, a number of papers have also been added.
Armand Borel (21 May 1923 -11 August 2003) was a Swiss mathematician, born in La Chaux-de-Fonds, and served as a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey, United States from 1957 to 1993. From 1983 to 1986 he also served as a professor at the ETH Zurich. He primarily worked on algebraic topology and on the...
Title:Oeuvres - Collected Papers IV: Volume Iv: 1983-1999Format:PaperbackDimensions:734 pagesPublished:September 26, 2013Publisher:Springer-Verlag/Sci-Tech/TradeLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:3642307175

ISBN - 13:9783642307171


Table of Contents

Papers by Armand Borel published from 1983 to 1999.