Of Love and War: A compelling mystery of the aftermath of the Great War

byPaul Doherty

Kobo ebook | July 11, 2013

Of Love and War: A compelling mystery of the aftermath of the Great War by Paul Doherty
$0.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

The war may be over, but devastating secrets are about to come to light...

Of Love and War is a compelling tale of love, guilt and retribution in the aftermath of the Great War from masterful writer, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker and Sebastian Barry.

'A powerful and poignant novel with echoes of Birdsong and Gallipoli, [Paul Doherty's] exuberant story of love, guilt and retribution vividly captures the courage and tragedy of the Great War's survivors as the face an uncertain future' - Newcastle Evening Chronicle

In 1921, Lieutenant Henry Gilpin is scouring the country seeking out those who, perhaps, did not do their best for king and country in the Great War. In the mining town of Crouden, Jack Aylward's name is on the top of his list. Many men never returned to Crouden from the mud of Northern France; the survivors are tragically altered. Gilpin may exorcise their ghosts, but he brings new terrors with his justice. Kitty Aylward watches in horror as he tears apart the lives of people she has loved and respected. After a wonderful childhood with her constant companions, Billy and Jack, Kitty had finally married Billy but before he left to fight Billy asked for one strange promise: if he should die, she must marry his closest friend. When her husband was killed kept her oath, but now she slowly realises that Gilpin could hold a terrible secret concerning Jack, and Billy's death.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'A tremendous and absorbing read'
'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'
'Five stars'

Title:Of Love and War: A compelling mystery of the aftermath of the Great WarFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:July 11, 2013Publisher:HeadlineLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0755398351

ISBN - 13:9780755398355

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: