Old Men at Midnight by Chaim Potok

Old Men at Midnight

byChaim Potok

Kobo ebook | December 30, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


From the celebrated author of The Chosen and My Name Is Asher Lev, a trilogy of related novellas about a woman whose life touches three very different men—stories that encompass some of the profoundest themes of the twentieth century.

Ilana Davita Dinn is the listener to whom three men relate their lives.

As a young girl, she offers English lessons to a teenage survivor of the camps. In “The Ark Builder,” he shares with her the story of his friendship with a proud old builder of synagogue arks, and what happened when the German army invaded their Polish town.

As a graduate student, she finds herself escorting a guest lecturer from the Soviet Union, and in “The War Doctor,” her sympathy moves him to put his painful past to paper recounting his experiences as a Soviet NKVD agent who was saved by an idealistic doctor during the Russian civil war, only to encounter him again during the terrifying period of the Kremlin doctors’ plot.

And, finally, we meet her in “The Trope Teacher,” in which a distinguished professor of military history, trying to write his memoirs, is distracted by his wife’s illness and by the arrival next door of a new neighbor, the famous writer I. D. (Ilana Davita) Chandal.

Poignant and profound, Chaim Potok’s newest fiction is a major addition to his remarkable—and remarkably loved—body of work.

From the Hardcover edition.

Title:Old Men at MidnightFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 30, 2008Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307489000

ISBN - 13:9780307489005

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Davita's story continues I love Davita's Harp, and when I discovered Mr. Potok had picked up her story once again, I couldn't wait for the paperback version to come out. I expected this to be in the tradition of the Asher Lev novels, but I was mistaken. Instead of continuing Davita's story in the same manner as he did Asher's, Mr. Potok instead picks three events in Davita's adult life, and the three men who she meets at that time: a young Holocaust survivor, a Soviet general who denied his Jewish heritage, and a Jewish professor of military history. Mr. Potok then uses her relationship with each man to tell their individual stories; essentially we have three short stories which are connected to Davita. The effect wasn't quite what I wanted; I wanted to see more of Davita's life and how she relates as a grown woman to the culture she found herself in at the end of the first book. (As a woman, that was the element of Davita's Harp I appreciated most.) This is still an interesting read but feels slightly disjo
Date published: 2002-09-21