Omega City: The Forbidden Fortress by Diana PeterfreundOmega City: The Forbidden Fortress by Diana Peterfreund

Omega City: The Forbidden Fortress

byDiana Peterfreund

Hardcover | February 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.90 online 
$21.00 list price save 10%
Earn 95 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of The Goonies and Rick Riordan, The Forbidden Fortress is the thrilling sequel to Omega City, from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund.

Gillian Seagret is not having a great summer. Her mother’s come back with plans to move Gillian and her brother across the country, and her father is away promoting his new book on Omega City—without her! Though Gillian and her friends were the ones to find the lost doomsday bunker, no one seems to care about their thoughts on the whereabouts of its creator, Dr. Underberg, or learning the truth about the Shepherds, a mysterious group that will stop at nothing to keep Underberg—and Omega City—a secret.

All that changes when Gillian and her friends are invited to speak at a lecture series at Guidant Technology. Finally they’re being recognized for their adventures! The Guidant campus is full of wonders, from self-driving cars to robot waiters, and the future-focused employees seem like worth heirs to Dr. Underberg.

But there are secrets here, too—a radio station that plays nothing but coded numbers, and an island that doesn’t appear on any map. And when Gillian and her friends uncover evidence that the Shepherd conspiracy goes deeper than anyone suspected, it’s up to them to infiltrate the Shepherds’ secret base and expose them . . . before it’s too late.

Title:Omega City: The Forbidden FortressFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.01 inPublished:February 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062310887

ISBN - 13:9780062310880

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Adventure Continues! Gillian, Eric and their friends find even more sinister clues and twists as they investigate the strange on goings of Shepherd at Guidant Technology - and learn the most shocking truths yet!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forbidden Fortress (Omega City #2) by Diana Peterfreund A fast-paced, cerebral book, OMEGA CITY: The Forbidden Fortress continues the journey of Gillian Seagret, her brother Eric, and their friends Savannah, Howard, and Nate.Ten months after finding Omega City, an mythical underground town that proves to be real, and escaping the clutches of the Shepherds, a group of conspiracy theorists bent on taking the technology from Omega City for nefarious purposes, Gillian and Eric are now living at home with their mother while their father tours and promotes his book based on their adventures.If the first Omega City book was like a cross between City of Ember and X-Files, this one crosses much further into the X-Files territory - that is, it’s full of intrigue, mystery, and weird science. Not only is this book ridden with code and clues and subtext, but it’s also chock-full of cutting-edge science about bee pollination, cloning, and the colonization of Mars. Because of that, I liked this book more than the first.Omega City #1 built a vibrant world and characters, but I absolutely adored the deeper motivations and development of the kids.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forbidden Fortress (Omega City #2) by Diana Peterfreund A fast-paced, cerebral book, OMEGA CITY: The Forbidden Fortress continues the journey of Gillian Seagret, her brother Eric, and their friends Savannah, Howard, and Nate.Ten months after finding Omega City, an mythical underground town that proves to be real, and escaping the clutches of the Shepherds, a group of conspiracy theorists bent on taking the technology from Omega City for nefarious purposes, Gillian and Eric are now living at home with their mother while their father tours and promotes his book based on their adventures.If the first Omega City book was like a cross between City of Ember and X-Files, this one crosses much further into the X-Files territory - that is, it’s full of intrigue, mystery, and weird science. Not only is this book ridden with code and clues and subtext, but it’s also chock-full of cutting-edge science about bee pollination, cloning, and the colonization of Mars. Because of that, I liked this book more than the first.Omega City #1 built a vibrant world and characters, but I absolutely adored the deeper motivations and development of the kids.
Date published: 2017-11-08

Editorial Reviews

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “Readers…will hardly have time to catch their breath before each new twist and turn.”