Omega City by Diana PeterfreundOmega City by Diana Peterfreund

Omega City

byDiana Peterfreund

Paperback | January 10, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.14 online 
$8.50 list price
Earn 41 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn’t listen to people who say her father’s a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War-era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to a cottage in the sticks, but Gillian knows he’s right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg’s diary in her father’s office, she thinks she’s found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Underberg’s greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off into the ruins of a vast doomsday bunker deep within the earth.

But they aren’t alone inside its dark and flooded halls. Now Gillian and her friends must race to explore Omega City and find the answers they need. For while Gillian wants to save her dad’s reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg’s secrets to light, others will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.

Title:Omega CityFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.7 inPublished:January 10, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062310860

ISBN - 13:9780062310866

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excitment Lays Deep, Deep Below... Join Gillian, Eric, and their friends, as they travel deep into the earth to learn the secrets of a grand city kept secrets for decades! A pure delight in sci-fi literature that will grab readers and never let them go!
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Omega City (Omega City #1) by Diana Peterfreund I'm serious. I love it so, so, so much. First chapter in and I fell hook, line, and sinker. It's funny, and not in a manner that feels forced or trying-to-sound-young-yet-failing-miserably. This only goes to show how great of an author Peterfreund is. I absolutely adored her YA books For Darkness Shows the Stars by Across the Dark-Swept Sea, so I really expected a lot from her. I admit that I was scared she wouldn't be able to effectively write a child's carefree personality, but Omega City proved me wrong and even went beyond what I could ever hope for.
Date published: 2017-11-05

Editorial Reviews

“Readers…will hardly have time to catch their breath before each new twist and turn.”