On a Wing and a Prayer: On A Wing And A Prayer by Ruby JacksonOn a Wing and a Prayer: On A Wing And A Prayer by Ruby Jackson

On a Wing and a Prayer: On A Wing And A Prayer

byRuby Jackson

Paperback | May 12, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.99

Earn 65 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

The fourth in a series of books featuring four young women whose lives will be forever changed by WWII. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.Rose Petrie is desperate to do something for the war effort. Despite the daily hardships and the nightly bombing raids, her sister, Daisy, and their friends all seem to be thriving in their war work. Rose is doing her best down at the munitions factory, but she is dealt a blow when her childhood sweetheart, Stan, tells her he doesn't feel the same way about her.Determined to get away and make a new start, Rosie decides to put her mechanical skills, learned from her father and brothers, to good use and signs up for the Women's Auxiliary Service, or ATS. But Rose discovers that delivering fruit and veg in her father's greengrocer's van is very different to driving trucks for the army in a country under seize.While learning the ropes, Rose will learn that things never go according to plan, either in love or war. But with grit, determination and a bit of luck, Rose is determined that she, and the rest of the country, will keep shining through.
Ruby Jackson and her husband live in a small village in Surrey. Ruby, who worked for an international charity, now writes full time, with a particular interest in how women cope under pressure. When she's not writing she is probably in their large garden coping with weeds.
Loading
Title:On a Wing and a Prayer: On A Wing And A PrayerFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pagesPublished:May 12, 2015Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007506295

ISBN - 13:9780007506293

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Amazing five star reviews from Amazon:Petra "book addict!!!"Churchill's Angels by Ruby Jackson for me was a wonderful read and therefore would recommend this marvellous book to anyone who loves a not only a good read but one which will keep your attention until you reach the last page.M. E. NewellChurchill's Angels by Ruby Jackson is a great book! Ms. Jackson gives the reader great characters and an excellent story line. Any fan of wartime books will truly enjoy this book!S Knight "Bookworm"I loved this book - cannot wait for the next one in the series. I really felt that I was there living with the characters. The historical detail is brilliant.J. Harper "Jenny Harper"Love, new challenges, death and humour battle on every page, ensuring that our attention is held from beginning to end. Can't wait for the next in the series!