On The Edge by Allison Van DiepenOn The Edge by Allison Van Diepen

On The Edge

byAllison Van Diepen

Hardcover | November 25, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.55 online 
$21.99 list price save 15%
Earn 93 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From Allison van Diepen, author of Light of Day, Snitch, and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel—perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Paul Griffin—about a teen who witnesses a murder and gets caught up in the seedy world of Miami's gangs.

Maddie Diaz never should have taken that shortcut through the park. If she hadn't, she wouldn't have seen two members of the Reyes gang attacking a homeless man. Now, as the only witness, she knows there's a target on her back.

But when the Reyes jump her on the street, Maddie is protected by a second gang and their secretive leader, Lobo, who is determined to take down the Reyes himself. Lobo is mysterious and passionate, and Maddie begins to fall for him. But when they live this close to the edge, can their love survive?

Allison van Diepen is the author ofStreet Pharm,Snitch,Takedown, and other novels for teens. Her books have been named ala Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers and NYPL Books for the Teen Age. She lives with her family in Ottawa, Canada, where she also teaches high school.
Loading
Title:On The EdgeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.01 inPublished:November 25, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062303449

ISBN - 13:9780062303448

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A New Fave by Allison van Diepen! On the Edge is one of my favourite books written by Allison van Diepen yet! The book was crazy addictive and oh so good. I read On the Edge really quickly because I just couldn't stop reading it for even a moment. Allison van Diepen is known for her darker YA novels that tackle difficult subject matter, and her latest novel is no exception. It's really not all too often that I read a YA novel that deals with how high school students are affected by gang violence. In the gritty streets of Miami, everyday you're living on the edge. When Maddie takes a shortcut through the local park after work one night, she witnesses two members of the Reyes gang attacking a homeless man. Shocked by the senseless, violent act, she reports it to the police, even though she knows her agreement to testify against the men puts a target on her back for daring to speak up. Maddie is a street-smart heroine just trying to make it long enough to her high school graduation. When she's not focused on her duties as editor of her school newspaper or working at McDonald's, she relieves stress by partying with her friends. Now, with a full-ride scholarship to Florida State University, she can finally leave Miami, that is, if she lives long enough. When the Reyes suddenly jump Maddie after work, she is rescued by a rival gang and their mysterious leader, Lobo. The journalist in Maddie is curious for answers about Lobo's identity. He has a personal vendetta against the Reyes and Maddie wants to help him. It's a chance for Maddie to feel a sense of justice, especially when it seems the police aren't doing enough. Maddie has always kept her head down and accepted the realities of living in a dangerous neighbourhood, but she can't remain uninvolved anymore, not after everything she's seen. While the romance develops faster than I normally enjoy for a YA novel, I totally fell for it. The characters live very in the moment, and it matches the fast pacing of the book. It's sort of instalove, but not really? It's kind of hard to explain without giving much away... And on a different note, I loved Dex, Maddie's German shepherd! He's just a perfect guard dog, so sweet and protective of her. Romance, suspense, danger, and even friendship drama, Allison van Diepen's On the Edge has a bit of everything to tempt and happily satisfy its readers. And if you're familiar with Snitch, an earlier novel of Diepen's, then I think you'll definitely recognize appearances by Julia and Eric in On the Edge. I absolutely can't wait to read Allison van Diepen's next book!
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent read It all started when Maddie Diaz took a shortcut through the park, something that should have had her home safe in no time. Instead she witnessed a murder of a homeless man by two gang members and she's the only witness. Talking to the police and helping put them murderers behind bars paints a huge target on her back but when the Reyes gang comes for revenge, Maddie is saved by the mysterious Lobo, the leader of a rival gang who's determined to end the Reyes. Maddie finds herself falling for him, which just may put her in more danger. Overall, I enjoyed this book. There was a lot of action, interesting characters, and it was pretty fast-paced. I liked Maddie as a character. I liked that she refused to let the gang members go free after the murder even though talking to the police put her in danger. I really liked that she wasn't a pushover. She could be very go-with-the-flow when it came to her friends, especially her best friend Iz, but when she needed to, she would stand up for herself. Her interactions with her mother were great. Maddie got a lot of freedom to stay out late or party as long as she was responsible but if she screwed up, she had to face the consequences and I liked that. I also enjoyed the cute flirty moments between Maddie and corner store clerk Ortiz. So cute. And the banter between Maddie and co-worker Manny, they could be funny together. I liked the chemistry between Maddie and Lobo but I do wish the romance had been a little slower paced. It was a little too instant for me, especially considering the extreme danger Maddie was putting herself in by getting involved with a gang leader without a second thought. The mystery of Lobo's identity was also predictable for me. There was some violence, as to be expected with the murder and gang story lines, but it wasn't overly graphic. The suspense was there but not to the point where I was holding my breath waiting to see what would happen, more like I was pretty sure what was going to happen and I was waiting to see if I was right. There was also one major thing that kept throwing me off. Early on Maddie mentioned losing her phone at the park during the murder and not getting it back and yet she kept mentioning texting her friends after losing the phone. So did she end up getting hers back somehow? Did she use someone else's? How was it happening? That kept popping into my head every time she used a cell phone so it took me out of the reading zone. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-01-14

Editorial Reviews

“The Miami underbelly–set thriller sub–plot steals the show.”