Once On This Island by Gloria WhelanOnce On This Island by Gloria Whelan

Once On This Island

byGloria Whelan

Paperback | August 9, 1996

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Earn 43 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Gloria Whelan is the bestselling author of many novels for young readers, including Homeless Bird, winner of the National Book Award, The Locked Garden, Parade of Shadows, and Listening for Lions. She lives in Michigan near Lake St. Clair.
Loading
Title:Once On This IslandFormat:PaperbackDimensions:192 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.38 inPublished:August 9, 1996Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064406199

ISBN - 13:9780064406192

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Reviews

From Our Editors

When war erupts between England and America in 1812, it brings change and uncertainty to Michagan's remote Mackinac Island. For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the Ameircan Army in Detroit. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the day when peace--and her father--will return.

Editorial Reviews

"Mary provides lively narration that flows along smoothly, and the portrait of the ways of the period and place is a compelling." (The Kirkus Reviews)