Once Upon A Highland Summer

Mass Market Paperback | December 10, 2013

byLecia Cornwall

not yet rated|write a review

A lush Scottish historical romance in the vein of Karen Ranney and Karen Hawkins.

An ancient curse, a pair of meddlesome ghosts, a girl on the run, and a fateful misunderstanding make for the perfect chance at true love.

Lady Caroline Forrester is on the run from her brother's scheme to marry her off to the highest bidder. An escape to Scotland offers a chance at employment as a governess and freedom from an unhappy marriage—it's the perfect solution. But Caroline wasn't prepared for the feelings that her new employer brings out in her.

Alec McNabb, the reluctant Earl of Glenorne, never expected to return home to Scotland. But now that he's there, he realizes he has obligations that he cannot escape. Alec needs to marry well, and quickly.

When a case of mistaken identity—coupled with the sensual, magical atmosphere of Glenorne Castle—results in a passionate encounter, Caroline and Alec must decide whether their attraction is enough to overcome the problems of their pasts, or whether this one chance at true love was over before it began …

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.71 online
$8.50 list price (save 9%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

A lush Scottish historical romance in the vein of Karen Ranney and Karen Hawkins.An ancient curse, a pair of meddlesome ghosts, a girl on the run, and a fateful misunderstanding make for the perfect chance at true love.Lady Caroline Forrester is on the run from her brother's scheme to marry her off to the highest bidder. An escape to S...

Lecia Cornwall lives and writes in Calgary, Canada, in the beautiful foothills of the Canadian Rockies, with five cats, two teenagers, a crazy chocolate Lab, and one very patient husband.

other books by Lecia Cornwall

The Price of Temptation
The Price of Temptation

Mass Market Paperback|Dec 27 2011

$9.50

Once Upon A Highland Christmas
Once Upon A Highland Christmas

Mass Market Paperback|Jan 20 2015

$8.50

Once Upon A Highland Autumn
Once Upon A Highland Autumn

Mass Market Paperback|Jul 8 2014

$8.17 online$8.50list price
see all books by Lecia Cornwall
Format:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 6.75 × 4.19 × 1.08 inPublished:December 10, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062328441

ISBN - 13:9780062328441

Customer Reviews of Once Upon A Highland Summer

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meddlesome ghosts & mistaken identity... What a delightful story. Of course, anytime nosy ghosts are involved, I'm happy. A story based in forbidden love starting with an encounter based on a mistaken identity urged on by two meddlesome ghosts who are the grandparents of the romantic couple in ONCE UPON A HIGHLAND SUMMER. Lady Caroline wants away from her half-brother and his desire to marry her off to his own benefit not hers. With whispering nudges from her ghostly grandmother, Georgina Forrester—the late Countess of Somerson—she finds a position as a governess to the three sisters of Alec MacNabb, the new Earl of Glenorne. Attracted to Alec, she wishes things were different in her life, his life, and the world around them, but he’s engaged to be married to a woman who can benefit Glenorne better than she. Life hasn’t been good to the men of Glenorne, and now Alec finds himself the new and reluctant Earl of Glenorne after a life of adventure and intrigue in Ceylon. A seemingly more leisurely life in Scotland isn’t exactly what he wants, nor does he wish a bride in Sophie Ellison even if her dowry will do much to reinforce Glenorne. When he mistakenly believes Caroline to be Sophie, misguided good intentions, and too much ale make for an interesting encounter on the plaid. But, then what is he to do when the truth is revealed? Will the curse laid upon his clan claim the happiness of yet another Earl of Glenorne? Lecia Cornwall’s ONCE UPON A HIGHLAND SUMMER is a story of mistaken identity, star-crossed lovers, romantic triangles, and a curse, which may or may not exist, but which causes so many to second guess motives, desires, and needs as to end up causing great hesitations when it comes to admitting true feelings. At times, there seemed to be too much going on at once in this story but once it was all settled, it made sense. I enjoyed the matchmaking interference of Angus and Georgiana, friendly albeit very nosy and meddlesome ghosts who obviously knew way too much of what was going on than anyone would want their grandparents knowing. I did have a little trouble following the timeline in the story in that, what seemed to be happening in a short amount of time actually happens over a lengthier spell but again, in the end, it all came together. I felt the story belonged more to Caroline than to she and Alec but it still worked, and since Lecia does write her heroines so they claim center stage, ONCE UPON A HIGHLAND SUMMER belongs to Caroline and her highlander. I do recommend ONCE UPON A HIGHLAND SUMMER by Lecia Cornwall to anyone who loves a good highlander story filled with all kinds of ruckus because when it comes to the world of Glenorne, ruckus is what you get on a daily basis. ***purchased for my own personal reading but sharing my honest and unscripted review.
Date published: 2015-04-12