Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2

by Kat Zhang

HarperCollins | September 17, 2013 | Hardcover

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2 is rated 4 out of 5 by 1.

In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom.

Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now they should be safe, living among an underground hybrid movement. But safety is starting to feel constricting. Faced with the possibility of being in hiding forever, the girls are eager to help bring about change—now. The answer seems to lie in a splinter group willing to go to extremes for hybrid freedom, but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, what they thought was the solution to their problems might just be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 in

Published: September 17, 2013

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062114905

ISBN - 13: 9780062114907

save 23%

  • In stock online
$21.99 list price

$16.83 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not As Good As The First... The first book in the series was phonomenal. The concept was gorgeous and I've never read anything similar before. I want more series to be as good as this one, and I think that more people should read this, ASAP.  This one wasn't as strong as the first novel, but I did like it. I wanted more.. drama. I wish that Eva and Addie learned to be more independent, I found that they relied on each other too much. I really liked this, and am looking forward for the next novel.
Date published: 2014-01-26

– More About This Product –

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles, Book 2

by Kat Zhang

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 in

Published: September 17, 2013

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062114905

ISBN - 13: 9780062114907

About the Book

In the riveting sequel to "What's Left of Me, " Addie and Eva struggle to share a body as they join in the rebellion against the government that would destroy them.

From the Publisher

In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom.

Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now they should be safe, living among an underground hybrid movement. But safety is starting to feel constricting. Faced with the possibility of being in hiding forever, the girls are eager to help bring about change—now. The answer seems to lie in a splinter group willing to go to extremes for hybrid freedom, but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, what they thought was the solution to their problems might just be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

From the Jacket

I am lucky just to be alive.

Eva was never supposed to have survived this long. As the recessive soul, she should have faded away years ago. Instead, she lingers in the body she shares with her sister soul, Addie. When the government discovered the truth, they tried to "cure" the girls, but Eva and Addie escaped before the doctors could strip Eva's soul away.

Now fugitives, Eva and Addie find shelter with a group of hybrids who run an underground resistance. Surrounded by others like them, the girls learn how to temporarily disappear to give each soul some much-needed privacy. Eva is thrilled at the chance to be alone with Ryan, the boy she's falling for, but troubled by the growing chasm between her and Addie. Despite clashes over their shared body, both girls are eager to join the rebellion.

Yet as they are drawn deeper into the escalating violence, they start to wonder: How far are they willing to go to fight for hybrid freedom? Faced with uncertainty and incredible danger, their answers may tear them apart forever.

About the Author

Kat Zhang is an avid traveler, and after a childhood spent living in one book after another, she now builds stories for other people to visit, including the Hybrid Chronicles.

Editorial Reviews

“the siblings’ desire for autonomy is intriguing, as is the exploration of the politics of enacting change.”