Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles Book 2

by Kat Zhang

HarperCollins | September 16, 2014 | Trade Paperback

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles Book 2 is rated 4 out of 5 by 1.

In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom.

Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now they should be safe, living among an underground hybrid movement. But safety is starting to feel constricting. Faced with the possibility of being in hiding forever, the girls are eager to help bring about change—now. The answer seems to lie in a splinter group willing to go to extremes for hybrid freedom, but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, what they thought was the solution to their problems might just be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.86 in

Published: September 16, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062114913

ISBN - 13: 9780062114914

save 0%

  • In stock online
$12.50 list price

$12.50 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles Book 2

Once We Were: The Hybrid Chronicles Book 2

by Kat Zhang

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.86 in

Published: September 16, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062114913

ISBN - 13: 9780062114914

From the Publisher

In the second novel in the Hybrid Chronicles—perfect for fans of Ally Condie, Lauren Oliver, and Scott Westerfeld—Eva and Addie struggle to share their body as they clash over romance and the fight for hybrid freedom.

Addie and Eva escaped imprisonment at a horrific psychiatric hospital. Now they should be safe, living among an underground hybrid movement. But safety is starting to feel constricting. Faced with the possibility of being in hiding forever, the girls are eager to help bring about change—now. The answer seems to lie in a splinter group willing to go to extremes for hybrid freedom, but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, what they thought was the solution to their problems might just be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

From the Jacket

I am lucky just to be alive.

As the recessive soul, Eva wasn't supposed to survive this long, lingering in the body she shares with her sister soul, Addie. When the government discovered the truth, they tried to "cure" the girls, but Eva and Addie escaped before the doctors could strip Eva's soul away.

Now fugitives, they take shelter with a hybrid resistance movement. Despite growing tensions between Eva and Addie, they both throw themselves into the cause. Soon they've joined a splinter group willing to resort to questionable methods . . . but as Addie and Eva fall ever deeper into their plans, the girls must decide how far they're willing to go to fight for their new lives. What they thought was the solution to their problems just might be the thing that destroys everything—including their bond to each other.

About the Author

Kat Zhang is an avid traveler, and after a childhood spent living in one book after another, she now builds stories for other people to visit, including the Hybrid Chronicles.

Editorial Reviews

“the siblings’ desire for autonomy is intriguing, as is the exploration of the politics of enacting change.”