Opened Ground Poems 1966 To 1996 by Seamus HeaneyOpened Ground Poems 1966 To 1996 by Seamus Heaney

Opened Ground Poems 1966 To 1996

bySeamus Heaney

Paperback | December 1, 1998

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.23 online 
$30.00 list price
Earn 146 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


This volume is a much-needed new selection of Seamus Heaney's work, taking account of recent volumes and of the author's work as a translator, and offering a more generous choice from previous volumes. Opened Ground: Poems 1966-1996 comes as close to being a 'Collected Poems' as its author cares to make it. It replaces his New Selected Poems 1966-1987, giving a fuller selection from each of the volumes represented there and adding large parts of those that have appeared since, together with examples of his work as a translator from the Greek, Latin, Italian and other languages. The book concludes with 'Crediting Poetry', the speech with which Seamus Heaney accepted the 1995 Nobel Prize in Literature, awarded to him, in the words of the Swedish Academy of Letters, for his 'works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth'.

About The Author

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966, and was followed by poetry, criticism and translations which established him as the leading poet of his generation. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and twice won the Whitbread Book of...
Beowulf: An Illustrated Edition
Beowulf: An Illustrated Edition

by Seamus Heaney


In stock online

Not available in stores

New Selected Poems 1988-2013
New Selected Poems 1988-2013

by Seamus Heaney


In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Opened Ground Poems 1966 To 1996Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.7 × 5.1 × 1.4 inPublished:December 1, 1998Publisher:Faber & Faber AgencyLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0571194931

ISBN - 13:9780571194933

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Opened Ground Poems 1966 To 1996


Extra Content

From Our Editors

Poems 1966-1996 is a virtually complete collection of Nobel prize winner Seamus Heaney’s poetry. This book is a timely selection from one of the century’s greatest poets, encompassing the volumes from New Selected Poems 1966-1987 as well as some of Heaney’s translations from Greek and Latin.