Outrun The Moon by Stacey LeeOutrun The Moon by Stacey Lee

Outrun The Moon

byStacey Lee

Paperback | May 2, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.01 online 
$14.99 list price save 6%
Earn 70 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult

Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature 
 
Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. Now she’s forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help—she still has the “bossy” cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?
Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Californian with roots in San Francisco Chinatown. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She has lots of experience with earthquakes, having skinned her knees more times than she wants to remember diving under tables. One day she hopes to ow...
Loading
Title:Outrun The MoonFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8.31 × 5.5 × 1.06 inPublished:May 2, 2017Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147516919

ISBN - 13:9780147516916

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Outrun the Moon:* "Full of beautiful turns of phrase, lessons in Chinese customs and superstitions, and a refreshing protagonist representing intersectional diversity, this is a must-read for followers of historical fiction  . . .  powerful, evocative, and thought-provoking."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review “Lee creates characters full of depth and nuance that seem historically accurate but still relatable to today’s teens . . . A diverse, engaging historical fiction that should not be missed.”—School Library Journal“Mercy’s narrative is flecked with witty puns, pithy wisdom from her fortune-telling mother, aphorisms from her favorite business book, and her obsession with bad-luck number four, all of which provide meaningful insight into both her character and her culture. While slipping in plenty of meaty historical context, particularly about the discrimination facing Chinese immigrants at the time, Lee tells a resoundingly warmhearted story about community arising amidst earth-shattering disaster.”—Booklist   “Mercy is a splendid narrator; her grit and humor makes the steady flow of racism she encounters even more jarring. Historical fiction fans are in for a real treat.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books   “Lee brings an awareness of a (perhaps) lesser known time, place, and immigration issue. Mercy has one adventure after another; dramatic situations that she creates by leaping right into action. Despite her impulsiveness, Mercy is a very believable heroine who is sure to inspire readers to keep following their dreams.”—VOYA “[A]n original exploration of a time and place not often depicted in historical fiction.”—Publishers Weekly  “Stacey Lee is an incredible voice in historical fiction, but she may have outdone even herself in her recent Outrun the Moon.”—Bustle.com   “Immersive and riveting. Mercy Wong had my heart from page one.”—Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes   “A fantastic read! Emotional, entertaining, and bewitching as it brings to life San Francisco in 1906.”—Cynthia Kadohata, author of the Newbery Award-winning Kira-Kira and the National Book Award-winning The Thing About Luck