Overlord: The Illustrated History Of The D-day Landings

Paperback | April 19, 2011

byKen Ford

not yet rated|write a review
Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich.

Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied troops assaulted the beaches of the Cotentin peninsular against stiff German resistance. Coordinated with the amphibious landings were airborne and glider landings, carrying out crucial orders to take key areas, enable the vital link-up between the beaches and secure the bridgehead. Casualties, especially on Omaha Beach, were horrendous, but the assaults were successful, and so began the arduous task of liberating Europe from Nazi occupation.

For fans of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor's D-Day, military history enthusiasts and World War 2 historians, Overlord offers a detailed military account of the important campaigns in Normandy in 1944. The book provides a close analysis at the plans and build-up to the operation, and, accompanied by photos, maps and artwork, discusses the events of D-Day in each of the key areas of the operation.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99 online
$22.00 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich. Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Al...

Dr. Stephen Badsey is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of War Studies at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. He is a specialist on the history of military ideas and the role of the media in warfare, and has published widely on military subjects ranging from the Crimean War to modern peacekeeping and the future of warfare. He has m...

other books by Ken Ford

St Nazaire 1942: The Great Commando Raid
St Nazaire 1942: The Great Commando Raid

Paperback|Oct 25 2001

$20.42 online$22.95list price(save 11%)
Operation Market-garden 1944 (2): The British Airborne Missions
Operation Market-garden 1944 (2): The British Airborne ...

Paperback|Nov 22 2016

$28.48 online$32.00list price(save 11%)
D-Day 1944 (4): Gold & Juno Beaches
D-Day 1944 (4): Gold & Juno Beaches

Kobo ebook|Jan 1 2011

$17.19 online$22.30list price(save 22%)
see all books by Ken Ford
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 9.5 × 7.45 × 1.12 inPublished:April 19, 2011Publisher:Osprey PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1849084785

ISBN - 13:9781849084789

Look for similar items by category:

deals on books

Customer Reviews of Overlord: The Illustrated History Of The D-day Landings

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Introduction /Chronology /Background to D-Day /Part I: Omaha /Part II: Utah Beach and the US Airborne Landings /Part III: Sword Beach and the British Airborne Landings /Part IV: Gold and Juno Beaches

Editorial Reviews

"An excellent account of one of the greatest and most dramatic military operations ever undertaken. The authors possess an intimate knowledge of the ground and a clear understanding of their sources, and have produced not only a lively and well illustrated narrative, but also a powerful and incisive analysis of some of the key reasons for the Allies' triumph. Possibly the best single-volume study of the D-Day landings currently available." - Dr Simon Trew, Department of War Studies, Royal Military Academy Sandhurst"...the authors have packed a wealth of information into this remarkable book." -Frederick Boucher, www.Armorama.com