Overlord: The Illustrated History Of The D-day Landings

Paperback | April 19, 2011

byKen Ford

not yet rated|write a review

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler''s Third Reich.

Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied troops assaulted the beaches of the Cotentin peninsular against stiff German resistance. Coordinated with the amphibious landings were airborne and glider landings, carrying out crucial orders to take key areas, enable the vital link-up between the beaches and secure the bridgehead. Casualties, especially on Omaha Beach, were horrendous, but the assaults were successful, and so began the arduous task of liberating Europe from Nazi occupation.

For fans of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor''s D-Day, military history enthusiasts and World War 2 historians, Overlord offers a detailed military account of the important campaigns in Normandy in 1944. The book provides a close analysis at the plans and build-up to the operation, and, accompanied by photos, maps and artwork, discusses the events of D-Day in each of the key areas of the operation.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99 online
$22.00 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich. Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied troops assaulted the beaches of the Cotentin peninsular a...

Dr. Stephen Badsey is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of War Studies at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. He is a specialist on the history of military ideas and the role of the media in warfare, and has published widely on military subjects ranging from the Crimean War to modern peacekeeping and the future of warfare. He has made frequent contributions as a historian for television and other media, and for ...

other books by Ken Ford

Operation Market-garden 1944 (2): The British Airborne Missions
Operation Market-garden 1944 (2): The British Airborne ...

Paperback|Nov 22 2016

$28.48 online$32.00list price(save 11%)
The Bruneval Raid: Operation Biting 1942
The Bruneval Raid: Operation Biting 1942

Kobo ebook|Mar 20 2012

$14.19 online$18.33list price(save 22%)
Operation Neptune 1944: D-Day?s Seaborne Armada
Operation Neptune 1944: D-Day?s Seaborne Armada

Kobo ebook|Feb 20 2014

$18.99 online$22.26list price(save 14%)
see all books by Ken Ford
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 9.5 × 7.45 × 1.12 inPublished:April 19, 2011Publisher:Osprey PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1849084785

ISBN - 13:9781849084789

Look for similar items by category:

deals on books

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Introduction /Chronology /Background to D-Day /Part I: Omaha /Part II: Utah Beach and the US Airborne Landings /Part III: Sword Beach and the British Airborne Landings /Part IV: Gold and Juno Beaches