Overlord: The Illustrated History Of The D-day Landings

Paperback | April 19, 2011

byKen Ford

not yet rated|write a review

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich.

Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, Allied troops assaulted the beaches of the Cotentin peninsular against stiff German resistance. Coordinated with the amphibious landings were airborne and glider landings, carrying out crucial orders to take key areas, enable the vital link-up between the beaches and secure the bridgehead. Casualties, especially on Omaha Beach, were horrendous, but the assaults were successful, and so began the arduous task of liberating Europe from Nazi occupation.

For fans of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor's D-Day, military history enthusiasts and World War 2 historians, Overlord offers a detailed military account of the important campaigns in Normandy in 1944. The book provides a close analysis at the plans and build-up to the operation, and, accompanied by photos, maps and artwork, discusses the events of D-Day in each of the key areas of the operation.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99 online
$22.00 list price
Out of stock online

From the Publisher

Operation Overlord was the largest amphibious military operation ever launched: the greatest armada the world had ever seen was assembled to transport the Allied invasion force of over 150,000 soldiers across the Channel to Normandy and open the long-awaited second front against Hitler's Third Reich. Just after dawn on June 6, 1944, A...

Dr. Stephen Badsey is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of War Studies at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. He is a specialist on the history of military ideas and the role of the media in warfare, and has published widely on military subjects ranging from the Crimean War to modern peacekeeping and the future of warfare. He has ...

other books by Ken Ford

ASSAULT ON GERMANY
ASSAULT ON GERMANY

Paperback|Nov 5 2012

$5.00 online$9.99list price(save 49%)
The Mareth Line 1943: The end in Africa
The Mareth Line 1943: The end in Africa

Kobo ebook|Oct 20 2012

$18.99 online$22.26list price(save 14%)
D-Day 1944 (3): Sword Beach & the British Airborne Landings
D-Day 1944 (3): Sword Beach & the British Airborne Land...

Kobo ebook|Jan 1 2011

$18.99 online$22.26list price(save 14%)
see all books by Ken Ford
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 9.5 × 7.45 × 1.12 inPublished:April 19, 2011Publisher:Osprey PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1849084785

ISBN - 13:9781849084789

Look for similar items by category:

deals on books

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Introduction /Chronology /Background to D-Day /Part I: Omaha /Part II: Utah Beach and the US Airborne Landings /Part III: Sword Beach and the British Airborne Landings /Part IV: Gold and Juno Beaches

Editorial Reviews

"An excellent account of one of the greatest and most dramatic military operations ever undertaken. The authors possess an intimate knowledge of the ground and a clear understanding of their sources, and have produced not only a lively and well illustrated narrative, but also a powerful and incisive analysis of some of the key reasons for the Allies' triumph. Possibly the best single-volume study of the D-Day landings currently available." -Dr Simon Trew, Department of War Studies, Royal Military Academy Sandhurst"...the authors have packed a wealth of information into this remarkable book." -Frederick Boucher, www.Armorama.com