Owl At Home

Paperback | September 29, 1982

byArnold Lobel

not yet rated|write a review

Celebrated author and illustrator Arnold Lobel welcomes you to Owl's cozy home in this Level 2 I Can Read book. Parents and beginning readers who enjoy Lobel's Frog and Toad series will fall in love with these warm stories featuring Owl. Owl lives by himself in a warm little house. But whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors! This beloved classic was created for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards

Pricing and Purchase Info

$4.97 online
$4.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From Our Editors

The picture book set will instantly warm to Owl, a plump little homebody, who makes 'Tear-water Tea, ' finds a friend in the moon, etc., in these five endearing stories".--School Library Journal. Three-color illustrations

From the Publisher

Celebrated author and illustrator Arnold Lobel welcomes you to Owl's cozy home in this Level 2 I Can Read book. Parents and beginning readers who enjoy Lobel's Frog and Toad series will fall in love with these warm stories featuring Owl. Owl lives by himself in a warm little house. But whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night...

From the Jacket

Whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors!

Arnold Lobel (1933-1987) was the award-winning author and illustrator of many beloved children's books, including the classic I Can Read books about Frog and Toad, and the Caldecott Medal winning Fables.

other books by Arnold Lobel

Frog And Toad Storybook Treasury
Frog And Toad Storybook Treasury

Hardcover|Dec 23 2013

$13.50 online$14.99list price(save 9%)
The Frog And Toad Collection Box Set
The Frog And Toad Collection Box Set

Paperback|May 25 2004

$14.16 online$14.99list price(save 5%)
Frog and Toad Are Friends
Frog and Toad Are Friends

Paperback|Feb 18 2003

$4.98 online$4.99list price
see all books by Arnold Lobel
Format:PaperbackDimensions:64 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.19 inPublished:September 29, 1982Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064440346

ISBN - 13:9780064440349

Appropriate for ages: 6 - 8

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Owl At Home

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book My 5 yr old daughter has a tough time focusing on stories in general but she seemed to really take to this series of stories. When I first got it I thought it would be boring for her, but she was quite engaged in the story. Very glad I bought this one and its not crammed with busy illustrations. Its nice to read a story where my child learns to listen and think about the story rather than follow the visuals and not really listen. The pictures (which are not on every page) are simple but really nice looking (almost Richard scary meets Beatrix potter). Perfect for a kindergartener who can help read the story since there is lots of simple vocabulary for that age.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You Can't Help But Love Owl Reason for Reading: My son read this aloud to me. Comments: I'm very familiar with this book but had never actually read it before! This contains four chapters, each its own individual story. Owl, himself, is not the brightest bulb in the package and while very polite and considerate he ends up in the silliest situations because of his own misunderstandings. Three of the stories follow this theme, while the third is a simple tale that shows his simple ways of making tea. Owl is a dear you can't help but love because of his simple yet good-natured ways. My son was laughing joyously at the antics Owl ends up in and Lobel's illustrations of course add volumes to the simple easy reader text. Arnold Lobel is well known for his illustrations but he was also a master of the easy reader. His books contain both phonetic and common sight words making them appropriate for readers who have passed the basic phonics level. A fun book to read aloud to youngers and a perfect easy reader.
Date published: 2009-12-21

Extra Content

From Our Editors

The picture book set will instantly warm to Owl, a plump little homebody, who makes 'Tear-water Tea, ' finds a friend in the moon, etc., in these five endearing stories".--School Library Journal. Three-color illustrations