Owl Sees Owl by Laura GodwinOwl Sees Owl by Laura Godwin

Owl Sees Owl

byLaura Godwin, Rob Dunlavey

Picture Books | September 20, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.99

Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."— Booklist starred review

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.

 
With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest (Home/Mama/Brother/Sister) and explores the starry world around him (Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond (Owl/Sees/Owl). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests (Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar) until he is finally safely home again (Sister/Brother/Mama/Home).

"Fans of Jane Yolen’s Owl Moon and Martin Waddell’s Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl’s first adventure." —School Library Journal, Starred
Laura Godwin has written many well-loved books for children, including the Doll People novels, which she co-authored with Ann M. Martin. She also works as a children’s book editor. She lives in New York City.Rob Dunlavey is the illustrator of The Dandelion’s Tale by Kevin Sheehan, which was called “luminous” and “radiant” in a starred ...
Loading
Title:Owl Sees OwlFormat:Picture BooksDimensions:40 pages, 10.31 × 8.38 × 0.32 inPublished:September 20, 2016Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0553497820

ISBN - 13:9780553497823

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genuis Very neat book. it's like a mirror image with words. Simple words, easy to understand, lovely pictures. Great play with words and reflection. Starts with " Home, Mother , Brother Sister" then the owl flies away and sees himself in the reflections. Owl sees owl. and when he gets home its the opposite" Sister, brother, mother home" . its like that for the whole book. the last part reflects the first part. so once the child learns some of the words, they can read the other half of the book. Genius!
Date published: 2017-08-05

Editorial Reviews

"Those who enjoy poetry and picture books will find quiet contemplation in this obvious choice that will appeal to any audience."— School Library Journal starred review "A perfectly paced, holistically rendered home-away-home story."— Kirkus Reviews starred review"Luminous blue-and-black-toned multimedia illustrations, rendered in soft shapes and rich colors, convey the quiet, dark beauty of an autumn night. Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."— Booklist starred review"The moonlit nighttime scenes are luminous and peaceful, with the endearing little white owl shown against a neverfrightening night sky dotted with stars." — Horn Book starred review