Oxford Reading Tree: Stages 8-11: Jackdaws Seeds and Grain (Pack 2) by Mike PoultonOxford Reading Tree: Stages 8-11: Jackdaws Seeds and Grain (Pack 2) by Mike Poulton

Oxford Reading Tree: Stages 8-11: Jackdaws Seeds and Grain (Pack 2)

byMike PoultonIllustratorChristyan Jones, Rowan Clifford

Paperback | September 30, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


Each pack of 6 Oxford Reading Tree Jackdaws Anthologies offer a challenge for competent and mature readers. Each of the titles are made up of different text types with a shared thematic topic. Each title combines fiction and non-fiction in the form of a fast-moving adventure tale, informationtext in a fact file, and a traditional tale or myth drawn from a variety of cultures. Pack 2 themes are: Dragons, Castles and Knights, Seeds and Grain, Seas and Storms, Haunted Houses, and Games and Races. Each themed anthology is illustrated with a variey of lively artwork and photographs, and hasnewly redesigned covers to match the rest of the New Edition Oxford Reading Tree. All anthologies are coded according to the Book Bands system.The 24pp Teaching Notes booklet, which is included in the pack of 6 anthologies, is the same size as the pupil books for easy classroom management. Included in the booklet are a Vocabulary Chart listing Year 1 high frequency words and context words for each title in the anthology, and a CurriculumCoverage Chart listing activities and outcomes for England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales for each anthology. Every anthology has individual notes and suggested activities for Group and Independent Reading Activities (text, sentence and word level work with a section focussing oncomprehension), Speaking and Listening Activities, and Writing, with each section showing the relevant NLS objectives covered. Within each section are prompts and suggestions for responding to the story, personal experiences, cross-curricular links, role play, and further suggestions on how toobserve pupils' progress. All in a helpful and easy-to-use layout.* Teaching Notes included in the pack, but also available separately* Helpful and flexible teaching support covering all titles in each anthology* Teaching Notes include a vocabulary chart for NLS high frequency words and context words* Curriculum coverage chart for England, Scotland, Northeren Ireland and Wales* New covers
Adam Coleman is the author of many titles in the Oxford Reading Tree series.
Title:Oxford Reading Tree: Stages 8-11: Jackdaws Seeds and Grain (Pack 2)Format:PaperbackDimensions:32 pages, 8.5 × 6.5 × 0.22 inPublished:September 30, 2004Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0198454511

ISBN - 13:9780198454519