Partials

Paperback | February 26, 2013

byDan Wells

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.90 online
$12.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells. Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the popul...

From the Jacket

The human race is all but extinct after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by RM, a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island while the Partials have m...

Dan Wells is the author ofPartialsandFragmentsas well as the John Cleaver series:I Am Not a Serial Killer,Mr. Monster, and IDon't Want to Kill You. He has been nominated for both the Hugo and the Campbell Award and has won two Parsec Awards for his podcastWriting Excuses. He plays a lot of games, reads a lot of books, and eats a lot of...

other books by Dan Wells

I Am Not A Serial Killer
I Am Not A Serial Killer

Paperback|Mar 30 2010

$13.87 online$13.99list price
Extreme Makeover: A Novel
Extreme Makeover: A Novel

Paperback|Nov 15 2016

$22.96 online$24.99list price(save 8%)
Mr. Monster
Mr. Monster

Paperback|Sep 28 2010

$16.72 online$17.50list price
see all books by Dan Wells
Format:PaperbackDimensions:528 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.19 inPublished:February 26, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006207105X

ISBN - 13:9780062071057

Customer Reviews of Partials

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Mr. Wells has recombined familiar dystopian elements, added original ones and thrown in dashes of dry wit to create a sprawling, action-packed medical thriller full of big ideas and exciting reversals.”