Patria: The Complete Cycle by R. Murray SchaferPatria: The Complete Cycle by R. Murray Schafer

Patria: The Complete Cycle

byR. Murray Schafer

Paperback | September 30, 2002

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.66 online 
$22.95 list price save 9%
Earn 103 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Patria (Latin for 'homeland') is composer R. Murray Schafer's life's work, a cycle of ten related music dramas created and performed over the last thirty years. Each play in the cycle has a common theme - the search of two lovers for one another through the many labyrinths of life on Earth. Though many of the same characters reappear in different sections, the scale of the cycle is vast, unfolding across many cultures and drawing extensively from numerous world mythologies. Many of these works are conceived for performance in unusual environments: on the surface of a lake, deep in a forest or even in a deserted mine. Some begin at dawn, sunset or midnight and some last for as long as a week. This definitive edition of Patria contains all ten parts of the cycle, plus photos, pages from the scores (complex visual artworks in their own right), commentary on the performance of the pieces and Schafer's personal essays on aestheticism. In these remarkable works, the arts courtone another: theatre meets ritual, mythology fuses with art, and the line between performer and audience blurs.
R. Murray Schafer is Canada's pre-eminent composer and is known throughout the world for his achievements as an educator, environmentalist, scholar and visual artist. His major books include the acclaimed The Tuning of the World, Ezra Pound and His Music, On Canadian Music and The Thinking Ear: On Music Education. He was the first winn...
Title:Patria: The Complete CycleFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:272 pages, 8.75 × 5.75 × 0.9 inShipping dimensions:8.75 × 5.75 × 0.9 inPublished:September 30, 2002Publisher:Coach House BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1552451097

ISBN - 13:9781552451090