Penguin Classics Complete Novels Of Jane Austen

April 24, 2007|
Penguin Classics Complete Novels Of Jane Austen by Jane Austen
Earn 140 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store


From one of the greatest novelists of the nineteenth century, The Complete Novels of Jane Austen collects all of Jane Austen''s novels in a single volume, published in Penguin Classics.

Few novelists have conveyed the subtleties and nuances of their own social milieu with the wit and insight of Jane Austen. Here in one volume are her seven great novels: Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, and Lady Susan. Through her vivacious and spirited heroines and their circle, Austen vividly portrays English middle-class life as the eighteenth century came to a close and the nineteenth century began. Each of the novels is a love story and a story about marriage - marriage for love, for financial security, for social status. But they are not straightforward romances: ironic, comic and wise, they are masterly evocations of the society Jane Austen observed. This beautiful volume covers the literary career of one of England''s finest prose stylists of any century.

Jane Austen (1775-1817) was famously modest about her own genius but has become one of English literature''s most revered writers. Austen began writing at a young age, embarking on what is possibly her best-known work, Pride and Prejudice, at the age of 22. She was the author of Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Persuasion, Mansfield Park and Northanger Abbey.

If you enjoyed The Complete Novels of Jane Austen, you might like Charlotte Brontë''s Jane Eyre, also available in Penguin Classics.

''One of my favourite writers''
Helen Fielding, author of Bridget Jones''s Diary

''You care about the people living between Austen''s pages as intensely as if they were real''
Esther Freud, author of Hideous Kinky

''Jane Austen is a writer who will be with you for a lifetime''
Elizabeth Buchan, author of Revenge of the Middle Aged Woman

Jane Austen, the daughter of a clergyman, was born in Hampshire in 1775, and later lived in Bath and the village of Chawton. As a child and teenager, she wrote brilliantly witty stories for her family''s amusement, as well as a novella, Lady Susan. Her first published novel was Sense and Sensibility, which appeared in 1811 and was soon...
Title:Penguin Classics Complete Novels Of Jane Austen
Product dimensions:1296 pages, 7.78 X 5.05 X 2.1 in
Shipping dimensions:1296 pages, 7.78 X 5.05 X 2.1 in
Published:April 24, 2007
Publisher:Penguin Uk
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780141030173

Recently Viewed