Orestes And Other Plays by Philip EuripidesOrestes And Other Plays by Philip Euripides

Orestes And Other Plays

byPhilip EuripidesTranslated byPhilip VellacottIntroduction byPhilip Vellacott

Paperback | September 30, 1972

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.83 online 
$23.00 list price save 13%
Earn 99 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Written during the long battles with Sparta that were to ultimately destroy ancient Athens, these six plays by Euripides brilliantly utilize traditional legends to illustrate the futility of war. The Children of Heracles holds a mirror up to contemporary Athens, while Andromache considers the position of women in Greek wartime society. In The Suppliant Women, the difference between just and unjust battle is explored, while Phoenician Women describes the brutal rivalry of the sons of King Oedipus, and the compelling Orestes depicts guilt caused by vengeful murder. Finally, Iphigenia in Aulis, Euripides' last play, contemplates religious sacrifice and the insanity of war. Together, the plays offer a moral and political statement that is at once unique to the ancient world, and prophetically relevant to our own.
pides (c.485-406 BC) is thought to have written 92 plays, only 18 of which survive.
Title:Orestes And Other PlaysFormat:PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 7.74 × 5.13 × 1.04 inPublished:September 30, 1972Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140442596

ISBN - 13:9780140442595

Appropriate for ages: 18 - 18

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Orestes and Other PlaysIntroduction

The Children of Heracles


The Suppliant Women

The Phoenician


Iphigenia in Aulis


From Our Editors

Years have passed since Agamemnon returned home from the Siege of Troy — only to be murdered on his doorstep by his own wife Clytemnestra — and his son, Orestes, has grown to maturity. But all his life, a cloud has been hanging over his head; unthinkable as it is, Orestes knows that he must avenge his father by murdering his mother. This powerful tragedy and five others by Euripides are collected in Orestes and Other Plays, a Penguin Classic edition with an informative introduction by Philip Vellacott.