Penny And Her Marble

Paperback | August 27, 2013

byKevin HenkesIllustratorKevin Henkes

not yet rated|write a review

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$4.95 online
$4.99 list price
Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right f...

From the Jacket

One day Penny finds a marble. It's pretty and blue, and she loves it right away. So Penny takes the marble home. But does the marble really belong to Penny?

Kevin Henkes is the author ofJunonia,Sun & Spoon,Bird Lake Moon, and the Newbery Honor BooksThe Year of Billy MillerandOlive's Ocean. He also writes and illustrates picture books, and among his many titles are the national bestsellersLittle White Rabbit,My Garden,Old Bear,A Good Day, andKitten's First Full Moon, for which he was awarde...

other books by Kevin Henkes

Waiting
Waiting

Hardcover|Sep 1 2015

$18.74 online$21.99list price(save 14%)
Chrysanthemum
Chrysanthemum

Paperback|Dec 30 2008

$8.42 online$8.50list price
The Year Of Billy Miller
The Year Of Billy Miller

Paperback|May 26 2015

$8.50

see all books by Kevin Henkes
Format:PaperbackDimensions:48 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.19 inPublished:August 27, 2013Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062082051

ISBN - 13:9780062082053

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Penny And Her Marble

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Carefully sequenced panels, expressive lines and gentle pastels lead the reader to the story’s joyous resolution.”