Peregrine Pickle [Christmas Summary Classics] by Tobias Smollett

Peregrine Pickle [Christmas Summary Classics]

byTobias Smollett

Kobo ebook | December 1, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Christmas Summary Classics
This series contains summary of Classic books such as Emma, Arne, Arabian Nights, Pride and prejudice, Tower of London, Wealth of Nations etc. Each book is specially crafted after reading complete book in less than 30 pages. One who wants to get joy of book reading especially in very less time can go for it.


Peregrine Pickle
"The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle," published in 1751, is the second of Smollett's novels. It was written under more congenial circumstances than "Roderick Random," although it is admitted that the hero is by no means a moral improvement on his predecessor. Sir Walter Scott describes him as "the savage and ferocious Pickle, who, besides his gross and base brutality towards Emilia, besides his ingratitude towards his uncle, and the savage propensity which he shows in the pleasure he takes to torment others by practical jokes, exhibits a low and un-gentlemanlike way of thinking, only one degree higher than that of Roderick Random." But the real interest of the story lies not so much in the adventures of Peregrine, as in the character of the old Commodore Trunnion. Thackeray declared Trunnion to be equal to Fielding's Squire Weston. If in "Peregrine Pickle" Smollett occasionally exhibits a tendency to secure variety by extravagant caricature, it is certain that in none of his works, and in none of those of any of his contemporaries, does a richer and more various crowd of personalities appear--a crowd at once quaint and amusing, disgusting and contemptible.

Title:Peregrine Pickle [Christmas Summary Classics]Format:Kobo ebookPublished:December 1, 2012Publisher:Zhingoora BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: